As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Want some new RAM...suggestions?

mtsmts Dr. Robot KingRegistered User regular
edited January 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Looking to upgrade the ram on my laptop. being out of it computer wise, can someone recommend me some good affordable ram

some stats

1.6 ghz intel pentium M

590 Mhz, 504 MB of Ram

what can i do with it?

camo_sig.png
mts on

Posts

  • Options
    urahonkyurahonky Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    What type of memory is it? Do you know? Could you give us the model of the laptop?

    urahonky on
  • Options
    RaslinRaslin Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Ram is really affordable now, in pretty much all forms(lets not get into the money-scam DDR3). Figure out what type your computer uses(sounds like an older computer, probably 184-pin SDRAM, but thats just a guess), and try to figure out the max it can take(the specs always mention its max, in my experience). Buy the max, and put it in. It most likely can't take over 2 gigs, and you can get two gigs for ~$40-60.

    Raslin on
    I cant url good so add me on steam anyways steamcommunity.com/id/Raslin

    3ds friend code: 2981-6032-4118
  • Options
    mtsmts Dr. Robot King Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    its an HP dv4250. no idea what type, is that in the hardware profile?

    mts on
    camo_sig.png
  • Options
    mtsmts Dr. Robot King Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    to update...looks like my computer can take up to 2gb cant seem to find the type

    edit:

    found this on a website
    Memory Upgrade for HewlettPackard Pavilion dv4000, the HewlettPackard Pavilion dv4000 takes the PC2700 DDR SDRAM SODIMMs. Memory Type, and comes installed with 512 MB = 256 MB (removable) + 256 MB (removable) of Memory. You can upgrade your HewlettPackard Pavilion dv4000 to up to a maximum of 2.0 GB Memory, the system has 2 sockets to install Memory, already with 512 MB = 256 MB (removable) + 256 MB (removable) standard Memory installed. For best system performance use the maximum amount of allowed Memory per slot for your system.
    Choose the following Memory Upgrade for HewlettPackard Pavilion dv4000.

    edit 2


    also this
    HP Pavilion DV4200 series (DV4200, DV4250, DV4253, DV4257, DV4269, DV4270, DV4272), DV4300 series (DV4300, DV4320, DV4330, DV4335) 512mb memory module, DDR2, PC2-4200, 533Mhz module by Hynix (Part#: 403897-001 )

    mts on
    camo_sig.png
  • Options
    CycophantCycophant Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    You're probably in a similar boat to me - I had to buy some laptop memory for some family members, and ran into the same problem, as it's something I wasn't too familiar with yet.

    It looks like your laptop takes pretty standard memory though - DDR SDRAM SODIMM. It's strange that one lists the speed it can handle as PC2700, and the other lists it as PC4200. Maybe consider taking a look inside your laptop and seeing what's currently in there. As a bonus this'll let you see whether they've actually used two stick of 256, or one stick of 512 (isn't common, but it does happen).

    Oh, and a trick I learned - buy PC5300 RAM. It appears to be the most common, and at least where I live, it was by far the cheapest RAM. But it'll downclock to whatever speed your laptop can handle, though only to a point. I'm fairly certain it'll work down to PC4200, though I'm not sure about the PC2700. Perhaps someone more knowledgeable can jump in and assist me here.

    Cycophant on
    sig.gif
  • Options
    ViolyntViolynt regular
    edited December 2007
    You have DDR1. Crucial, Corsair,Mushkin and G-skill are good brands.

    Buy PC2700 as that is what you are currently using so I am assuming your motherboard will not accept higher speed.

    Violynt on
    f4ded.png
    violynt.png
  • Options
    mtsmts Dr. Robot King Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    So whats the best place to get it through, don't know many part venders

    mts on
    camo_sig.png
  • Options
    mtsmts Dr. Robot King Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    also can i just get one stick of 2gb or do i need to break it up into 2 sticks of 1gb?

    mts on
    camo_sig.png
  • Options
    Eat_FireEat_Fire Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Unless the manfacturer states that you can use a 2GB stick you can't. Very few models of computer can work like that in regards to max memory.

    Eat_Fire on
    -Updating life to SP1-
Sign In or Register to comment.