As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Recording With A Webcam?

Dom888Dom888 Registered User regular
edited December 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Does anybody know of (favorably free) programs that allow me to record with the webcam that's in my lappy? Thanks in advance!

Dom888 on

Posts

  • OrganichuOrganichu poops peesRegistered User, Moderator mod
    edited December 2007
    I'm looking for the exact same thing!

    I've tried a program that just records whatever is happening on my screen (and I centered the 'capture area' on the window with the realtime feedback from the webcam) but it kept crashing on me.

    Organichu on
  • Dom888Dom888 Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    I'm looking for something to record what's going on outside the compy, but it seems we're still looking for similar things...I just want to figure out a way to get some videos of me playing piano or sax or something for youtube, you know? The lappy's my only bet right now, I just gotta find the right software =P

    Dom888 on
  • OrganichuOrganichu poops peesRegistered User, Moderator mod
    edited December 2007
    Yup, I'm looking for the same thing- I just resorted to screen capturing software because I looked for webcam recording software (as you're doing now) and came up dry.

    Organichu on
  • Dom888Dom888 Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    shoot...well, hopefully someone has a solution...it's the Help board after all, lol

    Dom888 on
  • ÆthelredÆthelred Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    What brand is your webcam? Usually they have proprietary software for this.

    Æthelred on
    pokes: 1505 8032 8399
  • Dom888Dom888 Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Acer, I believe, which is in my lappy. However, I also have a rotating Logitech webcam which has poorer quality.

    Dom888 on
  • Dom888Dom888 Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Okay, scratch that. I've found out what I have to do; however, fro some odd reason, my copy of Windows Movie Maker won't show the "Capture Video" function. Does it have anything to do with Vista being installed on my computer?

    Dom888 on
  • OrganichuOrganichu poops peesRegistered User, Moderator mod
    edited December 2007
    Dom888 wrote: »
    Okay, scratch that. I've found out what I have to do; however, fro some odd reason, my copy of Windows Movie Maker won't show the "Capture Video" function. Does it have anything to do with Vista being installed on my computer?

    Yup. :)

    I've already tried that. Vista removed the capture video function from WMM. We'll have to look elsewhere. I have an Acer laptop with my webcam, too.

    Organichu on
  • Dom888Dom888 Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Ugh...And I thought people were wrong about Vista...is it too much trouble to get rid of Vista and go to XP or will it trash my lappy?

    Dom888 on
  • ÆthelredÆthelred Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Logitech webcams usually come with Quickcam; which you should otherwise be able to find online. think this is it

    Æthelred on
    pokes: 1505 8032 8399
  • Dom888Dom888 Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Thanks alot! Now I just gotta dig the old one out...Using the clearer quality one just seems too much trouble and risk at this point.

    Dom888 on
Sign In or Register to comment.