imac g3

theparttimetheparttime Registered User
ok. bear with me, i've never had a mac or messed with one too much. so i bought a used cheap imac g3 to mess around with. yes its ancient. it was practically free. the store wiped it, so no os. i have my os x discs. i put disc 1 in and it doesn't boot the disc on startup, and i try pressing c or command shift option delete but still no boot. am i doing something wrong? when exactly do i press c, do i hold it? all that comes up is a gray screen and a small folder with the mac face switching to a question mark.

thanks all.

theparttime on

Posts

  • Doc HollidayDoc Holliday Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Yes, you need to hold 'c' to boot from the disc. Which OS X version is it? Many G3 iMacs don't have DVD readers so make sure that your disc is readable by the mac.

    Doc Holliday on
    PSN & Live: buckwilson
  • HAKdragonHAKdragon Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    You're supposed to hold the button after the startup sound. Also, if you hold down Option (Alt) when the system starts up, it should give you a list of start up options, Hard Disk, Optical Drive, Network, etc. According to Wikipedia, DVD wasn't really an option on models until 2000.
    Wikipedia wrote:
    July 19, 2000 — iMac/iMac DV/iMac DV+/iMac DV SE. DV+ and DV SE models upgrade slot-loading CD-ROM to slot-loading DVD-ROM drive. 350 or 400 or 450 or 500 MHz processor, colors graphite (grey), ruby (red), snow (white), indigo (blue) and sage (green). 350 MHz model (Indigo) still lacked FireWire support.

    HAKdragon on
    hakdragon.png
  • Akilae729Akilae729 Registered User
    edited January 2008
    You could try to boot from an external DVD drive

    Akilae729 on
    signaturebighe7.jpg
  • typhoontyphoon Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    "I put disc 1 in" strongly suggests that his copy of OS X is on multiple CDs and not a DVD.

    typhoon on
  • theparttimetheparttime Registered User
    edited January 2008
    for anyone who cared. guess i just had some faulty discs. borrowed my friends old discs and they booted fine. thanks all for your responses.

    theparttime on
  • Satan.Satan. __BANNED USERS
    edited January 2008
    for anyone who cared. guess i just had some faulty discs. borrowed my friends old discs and they booted fine. thanks all for your responses.
    For the future, there is a Mac thread here just for such an occasion!

    Satan. on
  • mcdermottmcdermott Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    for anyone who cared. guess i just had some faulty discs. borrowed my friends old discs and they booted fine. thanks all for your responses.
    For the future, there is a Mac thread here just for such an occasion!

    People there are always too busy talking about their shiny new Intel Macs. Those of us in the PPC ghetto don't feel welcome there anymore.
    Totally kidding, of course.

    mcdermott on
  • theparttimetheparttime Registered User
    edited January 2008
    ya i noticed that, but with macbook air as the title i wasn't sure whether i should post in there.

    another question. i got this thing for free so i was excited to mess with a mac for the first time. i was also planning to possible dual boot some linux distro on it. but i'm learning and looking up stuff and i see that ubuntu and other distros require some ram. the imac g3 originally came with a measly 32mb! i really don't know much about installing linux. is there any linux distribution i can put on this thing for dual boot. its not worth it too upgrade the ram.

    theparttime on
  • ben0207ben0207 Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Okay, some pointers.

    That thing won't run Leopard, and won't really run Tiger, so you won't be getting a particulalrly good view as to what using a Mac is currently like (or has been for 4 years). But, it's a nice start. Welcome aboard :)



    No need for a Linux, OS X is a proper UNIX already and Macports.com has all the packages you could possibly need.

    ben0207 on
  • theparttimetheparttime Registered User
    edited January 2008
    i know it won't run leopard. i'm not an idiot. i wanna put linux on it, just because i wanna. i know os x is a unix based operating system.

    theparttime on
  • GihgehlsGihgehls Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I had ubuntu running on my beige g3 and it was such a pain in the ass and also totally pointless. You'll be compiling everything yourself and it will be slow as all get out. If I could have put OS X on it I would have. OS X is basically linux with the best GUI ever. Way better than any KDE or Gnome poop.

    Gihgehls on
    PA-gihgehls-sig.jpg
  • EggyToastEggyToast Registered User regular
    edited February 2008
    We have OS X 10.2 on an old 400mhz Powermac at work. It's slow, but it definitely runs and works and doesn't complain. It could probably run 10.3 but we're using it for legacy apps, so 10.2 it is.

    I would also not suggest running Linux on it, unless you're talking about running Fluxbox or something on, say, Linux From Scratch or similar. I'd keep ubuntu away from it. Depends on what you want to end up using it for.

    EggyToast on
    || Flickr — || PSN: EggyToast
  • GihgehlsGihgehls Registered User regular
    edited February 2008
    If you're just looking for the challenge of installing linux on PPC, then that is definitely a good box to play around with. I just don't think it would be useful for much...

    Gihgehls on
    PA-gihgehls-sig.jpg
Sign In or Register to comment.