As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Help Me I'm New To Comics

• TurambarTurambar Independent Registered User regular
    You might like Venom, manwiththemachinegun

It's by the same guy who writes Uncanny X-Force(amazing) and it's sort of like a darker Spider-Man/Deadpool

Steam: turamb | Origin: Turamb | 3DS: 3411-1109-4537 | NNID: Turambar | Warframe(PC): Turamb
  • manwiththemachinegunmanwiththemachinegun METAL GEAR?! Registered User regular
    Venom is okay from what I remember.

What's good from the new DC relaunch? Are JLA, Suicide Squad and Deathstroke good?

• MaximumMaximum Registered User regular
    edited May 2012
    Warren Ellis's Thunderbolts run would probably be right up your alley too.

Venom, Bullseye, Moonstar, Radioactive Man and some other villians all working for the government, tasked with capturing unregistered superheroes. Very Suicide Squadish in the sense that it's bad guys working for the greater good against their will.

I was going to link it but apparently it's out of print...good thing I have my two hardcovers squirled away.

Jeff Parker's Thunderbolts run starts here...http://www.amazon.com/Thunderbolts-Cage-Jeff-Parker/dp/0785147756/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1336513905&sr=8-4

This time it's Luke Cage leading a team of misfists instead of Norman Osborn and it may wind up being even better than Ellis's version. I'm only into the second arc myself right now but I'm loving it.

Maximum on
  • Centipede DamascusCentipede Damascus Registered User regular
    edited May 2012
    Things I like:

"Holy shit! Is that a paramilitary superhero force fighting Taliban agents with giant crabs and snappy one liners?"
    "Sweet, I like how that character is super heroic and noble, and also not a pussy."