Options

Error 500 Mainsite.

GiantRoboGiantRobo Registered User regular
Yeah, can't view it, forums act fine for me though.

GiantRobo on

Posts

  • Options
    Kane Red RobeKane Red Robe Master of Magic ArcanusRegistered User regular
    edited March 2008
    Ditto.

    Kane Red Robe on
  • Options
    SeeksSeeks Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    Yup, getting the same thing.

    Seeks on
    userbar.jpg
    desura_Userbar.png
  • Options
    RamiusRamius Joined: July 19, 2000 Administrator, ClubPA admin
    edited March 2008
    Acknowledged.

    I'll report back if I hear more info on what is going on with it.

    Ramius on
    1zxt8dhasaon.png
  • Options
    darleysamdarleysam On my way to UKRegistered User regular
    edited March 2008
    I'm getting the same problem but it looks like people are already onto it.

    darleysam on
    forumsig.png
  • Options
    RankenphileRankenphile Passersby were amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood.Registered User, Moderator Mod Emeritus
    edited March 2008
    Yup, same here.

    Rankenphile on
    8406wWN.png
  • Options
    psypetepsypete Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    pretty simple, forums are at ip 208.81.201.38, website is at 208.81.201.34. somebody with a contact e-mail for the domain should let them know (thanks anonymous domain registration without any real tech contact!)

    pages come back sporadically. sometimes they return a 503, sometimes a 500, occasionally the comics page works but then fails. probably need to bounce whatever lighttpd is using to serve the dynamic content... fastcgi cluster? tomcat perhaps?

    psypete on
  • Options
    FyreWulffFyreWulff YouRegistered User, ClubPA regular
    edited March 2008
    At least it's a blazingly fast Error 500.

    FyreWulff on
  • Options
    RamiusRamius Joined: July 19, 2000 Administrator, ClubPA admin
    edited March 2008
    somebody with a contact e-mail for the domain should let them know

    Sorry, that's what I meant when I said, "Acknowledged".

    To clarify, I have no purview over the "mainsite" but I have the contact info of the people who do (people like the illustrious alphamonkey who was up late last night getting us setup here (yay!) and is probably now snoozing, unfortunately(boo!))

    I had not heard any news that the mainsite would be moving as well last night. It was already on servers isolated from the forums as far as I know and it was not having the pressing performance problems that we were having, so I'm a bit surprised to find it unavailable this morning.

    Ramius on
    1zxt8dhasaon.png
  • Options
    ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    Ramius wrote: »
    somebody with a contact e-mail for the domain should let them know
    Sorry, that's what I meant when I said, "Acknowledged".

    To clarify, I have no purview over the "mainsite" but I have the contact info of the people who do (people like the illustrious alphamonkey who was up late last night getting us setup here (yay!) and is probably now snoozing, unfortunately(boo!))
    Yup. I move one thing at a time to avoid things like this, and for reasons that I don't quite understand, Ruby on Rails decided to balloon up to using 1.5 GB of physical memory and then started spinlocking.
    I had not heard any news that the mainsite would be moving as well last night. It was already on servers isolated from the forums as far as I know and it was not having the pressing performance problems that we were having, so I'm a bit surprised to find it unavailable this morning.
    It didn't. The mainsite moved over a while ago and does indeed run on separate servers, so the performance you see here is the real deal.

    Älphämönkëy on
  • Options
    psypetepsypete Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    so it's 5 hrs later and lighttpd is timing out now. methinks ruby isn't the main problem anymore...

    i'm curious why if ruby was sucking up all the ram and spinlocking, we didn't see some sort of hang or timeout? we just got a 500 or 503 immediately. did you hit max connections for ruby while it was spinning, or did the servers just fall over and your proxy decided not to connect to them anymore?

    i admit i don't have enough experience with lighttpd to know what its full capabilities are here. usually i use apache, perl/php/java and mysql/oracle, and some apps are written poorly so when database connections fall over the childs just sit there soaking up connections and memory and never re-connecting to the db or providing anything useful to the client

    psypete on
  • Options
    ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    psypete wrote: »
    so it's 5 hrs later and lighttpd is timing out now. methinks ruby isn't the main problem anymore...

    i'm curious why if ruby was sucking up all the ram and spinlocking, we didn't see some sort of hang or timeout? we just got a 500 or 503 immediately. did you hit max connections for ruby while it was spinning, or did the servers just fall over and your proxy decided not to connect to them anymore?

    i admit i don't have enough experience with lighttpd to know what its full capabilities are here. usually i use apache, perl/php/java and mysql/oracle, and some apps are written poorly so when database connections fall over the childs just sit there soaking up connections and memory and never re-connecting to the db or providing anything useful to the client
    lighttpd has a known race condition where it will fail at high levels of use when modifying the SCGI/FastCGI pools.

    My solution is to roll a different webserver, but that isn't a trivial conversion.

    Älphämönkëy on
  • Options
    psypetepsypete Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    lighttpd has a known race condition where it will fail at high levels of use when modifying the SCGI/FastCGI pools.

    yikes! i haven't heard of that before, and we use it in a pretty high traffic fashion but for serving content right off the lighttpd box, no proxies (apache for proxies & most dynamic content; we're old-school). honestly if you've looked through the lighttpd code it's quite hairy. i wrote a patch so we could specify max-age longer than an unsigned int, ughhh.... i might prefer hacking apache!

    psypete on
  • Options
    FunkyWaltDoggFunkyWaltDogg Columbia, SCRegistered User regular
    edited March 2008
    I am getting something now which is not a 500 error. The front page is loading, sort of, with no background and most of the formatting broken. I haven't yet gotten the comic to load.

    FunkyWaltDogg on
  • Options
    OlivawOlivaw good name, isn't it? the foot of mt fujiRegistered User regular
    edited March 2008
    I am getting something now which is not a 500 error. The front page is loading, sort of, with no background and most of the formatting broken. I haven't yet gotten the comic to load.

    Same thing here

    Olivaw on
    signature-deffo.jpg
    PSN ID : DetectiveOlivaw | TWITTER | STEAM ID | NEVER FORGET
  • Options
    Satan.Satan. __BANNED USERS regular
    edited March 2008
    Taking forever to load images, however they do load eventually.

    Satan. on
  • Options
    QuethalQuethal The Infrequent OaklandRegistered User regular
    edited March 2008
    Interesting that the main site would go down without the forums tumbling after.

    http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2002/02/01

    I won't live in a world where Penny Arcade doesn't work!

    Quethal on
  • Options
    psypetepsypete Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    Quethal wrote: »
    Interesting that the main site would go down without the forums tumbling after.

    http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2002/02/01

    I won't live in a world where Penny Arcade doesn't work!

    forums and main website aren't hosted on the same boxes

    psypete on
  • Options
    ArgusArgus Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    Olivaw wrote: »
    I am getting something now which is not a 500 error. The front page is loading, sort of, with no background and most of the formatting broken. I haven't yet gotten the comic to load.

    Same thing here

    Thirded.

    Argus on
    pasigsizedu5.jpg
  • Options
    jwalkjwalk Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    dittoed

    and working ok now (3/29)

    jwalk on
  • Options
    jskangjskang Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    The "front page" seems to be working just fine. But, if you try to go back to a previous post, my browser (FF) just sits there waiting to load a page that never seems to come.

    The other interesting thing is that that navigation buttons all point to an IP address-based link instead of a link with a domain name in it (except for the RSS feed link).

    jskang on
  • Options
    ArgusArgus Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    jwalk wrote: »
    dittoed

    and working ok now (3/29)

    Front page just messed up again for me, as of 7:29 CDT 3/30.

    Argus on
    pasigsizedu5.jpg
  • Options
    jskangjskang Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    Well, I'll refrain from any more posts about the site, I'm sure the "powers that be" are well aware.

    jskang on
  • Options
    ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    Yup. Things should be a little bumpy for the next two hours and then they should be really smooth.

    Älphämönkëy on
  • Options
    altmannaltmann Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    aaaand. Frontpage not loading for me at all. Friday it didn't work at all. Saturday it didn't work at all. Sunday, I got to read the comic, yay! Monday, not working.


    WTF is happening?

    altmann on
    Imperator of the Gigahorse Jockeys.

    "Oh what a day, what a LOVELY DAY!"

    signature.png
  • Options
    RankenphileRankenphile Passersby were amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood.Registered User, Moderator Mod Emeritus
    edited March 2008
    shit be all bazonkers.

    technically speaking.

    Rankenphile on
    8406wWN.png
  • Options
    TofystedethTofystedeth Registered User regular
    edited March 2008
    You lost me Rank. Could you put that in layman's terms?

    Tofystedeth on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    darleysamdarleysam On my way to UKRegistered User regular
    edited March 2008
    Instead of this:
    happy.jpg

    it is this:
    oops14.jpg

    darleysam on
    forumsig.png
  • Options
    jwalkjwalk Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    SNAFU MAN!! FUBAR!!

    so no eta?

    of course right after I write that I go check and it's fine.

    of course it was fine for a while on sunday too.

    jwalk on
  • Options
    ÄlphämönkëyÄlphämönkëy Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    I forgot to post earlier, but it should be running pretty well. I still have some tuning to do, but that's for another time.

    Älphämönkëy on
  • Options
    jskangjskang Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Yay! Thanks, alphamonkey!

    jskang on
Sign In or Register to comment.