As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

World of Warcraft Problem

OracleMarsOracleMars Registered User regular
edited April 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
So I got a brand new PC after 7 years. So with all these new games to try I head to WoW first, and as soon as I make a character I see this.

http://img153.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wowqj6.jpg

My PC build right now is.

Windows Vista Home Premium
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @2.40 ghz
3 gb ram
ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT

OracleMars on

Posts

  • Options
    SteevLSteevL What can I do for you? Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    First thing to do is make sure you have the latest drivers for your video card installed. After that, I can be of no help.

    SteevL on
  • Options
    Oz K. FodrotskiOz K. Fodrotski Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Download/install the latest drivers for your videocard, any updates for Vista, and, if those two don't work, try running the World of Warcraft Repair Utility (in your WoW directory, named "repair.exe" if memory serves).

    Oz K. Fodrotski on
  • Options
    OracleMarsOracleMars Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    I upgraded the driver didn't fix it.

    And I tried to play again and I get this. Error #124(0x8510007c) Memory Invalid Block Program: C:\Users\John\World of Warcraft Trial\WoW.exe Function: delete. SMem3: Pointer does not refer to a valid allocated block of memory

    OracleMars on
  • Options
    Seattle ThreadSeattle Thread Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Try each stick of RAM by itself to see if any of 'em are bad.

    Seattle Thread on
    kofz2amsvqm3.png
  • Options
    ArgusArgus Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    That's definitely a problem with your video card. Perhaps you're attempting to use a function that your graphics card doesn't support? I know that when I played another game, if I tried to turn on a certain function (which I later looked up and found my graphics card didn't support), textures would mess up, looking extremely similar to that.

    Argus on
    pasigsizedu5.jpg
  • Options
    OracleMarsOracleMars Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    I can run starcraft just fine. So if I can't run this could I run orange box?

    OracleMars on
  • Options
    JasconiusJasconius sword criminal mad onlineRegistered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Wow that's quite a verbose error message, heh.

    WoW is trying to call up some RAM that is not allocated to WoW.

    My money is on memory corruption.

    However, the weird ass green textures and blocks for eyes is a video card issue.

    You may want to completely uninstall all video drivers before installing the new ones.

    Then reinstall DirectX.

    If that fails, then you will want to yank out each stick of RAM and test them out one at a time.

    Jasconius on
  • Options
    Oz K. FodrotskiOz K. Fodrotski Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    I'd try running the Orange Box -- if your videocard or memory are bad, you'll see a similar issue, or they won't run.

    Seeing as this system is brand new, though, everything should be under warranty, so you can, in theory, get a replacement.

    Oz K. Fodrotski on
  • Options
    OracleMarsOracleMars Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Well For now I'll just try some crazy MMO's. Since I'm new to this whole PC thing. How would I test the sticks and such?

    OracleMars on
  • Options
    VThornheartVThornheart Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    The new PC you got... did you get it from a company, like Dell?

    I get the feeling that at least one piece of it is defective from the messages above. The RAM sounds like it's having issues... but the video card as well. If you got it from a company, bring this up and see if they'll fix/replace it.

    VThornheart on
    3DS Friend Code: 1950-8938-9095
  • Options
    Seattle ThreadSeattle Thread Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    OracleMars wrote: »
    Well For now I'll just try some crazy MMO's. Since I'm new to this whole PC thing. How would I test the sticks and such?
    Remove all of the RAM sticks. Put a single one back in, reboot, test to see if the error occurs. If not, repeat with a different stick. If so, time to send that stick back to whence it came.

    e:VThorn has a good point... if you built the machine yourself, you would send it back to the place you bought it from and they'll send you a new one. If the machine is a prebuilt system, like a Dell or HP or even a local computer shop, call them and follow their policy regarding defective parts.

    Seattle Thread on
    kofz2amsvqm3.png
  • Options
    OracleMarsOracleMars Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    It was Dell... how would I know if one worked?

    OracleMars on
  • Options
    exisexis Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    OracleMars wrote: »
    It was Dell... how would I know if one worked?

    Are you getting the same error?

    exis on
  • Options
    VThornheartVThornheart Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    WAIT!!!!!

    If it's a Dell, don't open it! I don't know Dell's policy on that, but I know that some companies void the warranty if you open the case. It could make it harder to convince them that the stupid thing is defective.

    Close the case if you've opened it already, don't mess with it anymore, and call dell and describe the problem (and do not mention that you opened the case). If you're insistent (as you should be), they will file an RMA to have it repaired or replaced and you'll be set.

    Don't mess with it anymore though, you don't want to void the warranty. I don't know for sure if it will, but it's better to play it safe.

    VThornheart on
    3DS Friend Code: 1950-8938-9095
  • Options
    OracleMarsOracleMars Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Meh they have this thing on top that if you pull it, case pops open. So I guess I'll give them a call, so I guess I'll explain to them A) One of the Ram Sticks is Dead
    B) Video Card is Dead.

    OracleMars on
  • Options
    Seattle ThreadSeattle Thread Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    OracleMars wrote: »
    It was Dell... how would I know if one worked?
    If... OK, I don't advise you to test the RAM. If you're not confident enough with handling memory sticks, you can potentially make things much worse by putting one in backwards or seated improperly. Like, bricking-the-thing-by-frying-the-motherboard worse.

    For the record, Dell has no warranty-voiding policy if you open the case--you're free to poke around in there as much as you'd like. As far as I know, Apple is the only manufacturer with such a policy.

    Seattle Thread on
    kofz2amsvqm3.png
  • Options
    VThornheartVThornheart Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Oh, good. That's a good thing. =)

    VThornheart on
    3DS Friend Code: 1950-8938-9095
  • Options
    vonPoonBurGervonPoonBurGer Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    OracleMars wrote: »
    How would I test the sticks and such?
    You can test your memory without cracking the case. Download MemTest86+, whichever one you have bootable media for (e.g., if you have a CD writer and can boot from CD, download the ISO image and burn it to CD). Boot the CD or USB key or floppy, whichever one you chose, and let the test run. If you see red errors during tests one through five, you have a bad stick of RAM. Errors on tests 6 through 8 can be hardware, or they can be configuration issues, memory running at the wrong speed/timings, that sort of thing. If it is bad RAM, just call Dell and say "Memtest shows errors when testing my RAM". They should take care of it under warranty from there. They may ask you to run some diagnostic tools of their own first though.

    vonPoonBurGer on
    Xbox Live:vonPoon | PSN: vonPoon | Steam: vonPoonBurGer
Sign In or Register to comment.