As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

New DMing bluuees

BelruelBelruel NARUTO FUCKSRegistered User regular
edited June 2008 in Critical Failures
Hey there party people of critical failures, I have recently been chosen to learn how to be dungeon master for a smallish group of my friends, and i am completely new to it. I played D&D with a group of friends years ago, but only vaguely remember how everything went, and i definitely wasn't paying attention to how my DM did everything (sadly).

So now I am faced with the task of learning all the rules, and starting a game with people who have never before played any tabletop game except for my boyfriend, and he hasn't played for years either.

So I ask you, wise and powerful leaders of games, to give me tips and advice, maybe things you wish you had known when you first started leading games. We'll be playing D&D using the 3.5 ruleset, but I would wager that general tips for how to keep a group of people (we're looking at 3-4 people) happy and entertained would apply to many tabletop games.

Also, any ideas for what my first dungeon for them to crawl through should be would be awesome. Any help you guys feel like throwing my way would be very much appreciated.

vmn6rftb232b.png
Belruel on

• Options
    HorseshoeHorseshoe Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    What rulebooks do you have?

And are you set on using 3.5? Because the first dungeon adventure module just came out for the new edition.

Horseshoe on
    dmsigsmallek3.jpg
  • Options
    fadingathedgesfadingathedges Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    Hi.