As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Computer Problems on restart

gorall9gorall9 Registered User regular
edited May 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
My gf just built her new computer yesterday, and everything runs fine after startup but everytime she restarts her computer it takes forever to load up, it stops at a loading bar black screen with microsoft corp underneath it and takes about 5-10mins to load.

She is using windows vista, and its a fairly fresh install only updated her drivers and installed some of windows updates and on reset it started doing the slow loading screen.

I'm thinking she could have installed something incorrectly maybe but if that was the case her computer shouldnt even run well once windows has started up, since after startup it runs perfectly fine so not exactly sure what the deal is.

Her specs:
phenom 2.4ghz quad core
8800gt 512
m3a mobo
4g of gskill ram
250g hd 7200rpm

Any help would be apreciated

Summary: comp takes 10min to load up at startup on a newly built computer not sure what the problem is.

gorall9 on

Posts

  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    gorall9 wrote: »
    She is using windows vista
    phenom 2.4ghz quad core
    8800gt 512

    She wouldn't happen to be using the 64 bit version of vista, would she?

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    gorall9gorall9 Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    no its 32bit vista

    gorall9 on
  • Options
    gorall9gorall9 Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    ok so some new information, we found someone else that had the same problem and they said to change the boot priority, so we put the hdd to boot first and then followed by cd-dvd rom drive.

    Now it starts out loading fast but when it gets to the cd rom drive or the second thing to boot up it starts to go slow again

    gorall9 on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    gorall9 wrote: »
    ok so some new information, we found someone else that had the same problem and they said to change the boot priority, so we put the hdd to boot first and then followed by cd-dvd rom drive.

    Now it starts out loading fast but when it gets to the cd rom drive or the second thing to boot up it starts to go slow again

    It shouldn't be getting to the CD-ROM if you've set the priority to the HDD first.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    gorall9gorall9 Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    hmm, is there a way then to see what it gets caught on then cause it seems to boot slightly faster now because priority changed but once it loads its first part it slows down again

    gorall9 on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    gorall9 wrote: »
    hmm, is there a way then to see what it gets caught on then cause it seems to boot slightly faster now because priority changed but once it loads its first part it slows down again

    I'm not sure, all of the computers I've had with the phenom and vista tended to be as slow as molasses on boot. However, this was a 64 bit vista so I'm not sure if it still applies. It may very well be related to the video driver, which also had problems with the 8800gt we had in the machine.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • Options
    gorall9gorall9 Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    I built nearly the same computer about a month or so ago only difference is the processor on mine is 2/3ghz instead of the 2.4 version and she has 1 more gig of ram then me, mine worked fine but i guess some of her hardware could be busted or maybe installed incorrectly

    gorall9 on
  • Options
    bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    gorall9 wrote: »
    I built nearly the same computer about a month or so ago only difference is the processor on mine is 2/3ghz instead of the 2.4 version and she has 1 more gig of ram then me, mine worked fine but i guess some of her hardware could be busted or maybe installed incorrectly

    I remember there was an issue with some of the 2.4 Phenom chips (later replaced) that a lot of distributors still have in stock. It had something to do with faulty registers or something like that. You might want to look into it.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
Sign In or Register to comment.