Options

PC to HDTV via DVI: help me i am scared

ben0207ben0207 Registered User regular
So, my girlfriends TV is connected to her PC via DVI, and it sort of works, but only at 1024 x 768. So it's either stretched horribly or not using the whole glorious 27 inches :winky:

Some specs:

TV is a Thomson 27LCDB03B (it's a couple years old now, but I only recently moved in)
PC is a 2.6Ghz P4 with a 256 MB GeForce FX 5600, running the most up to date driver I could find from Nvidia.
OS is XP Sp2

The main problem is that I'm very much a Mac guy. And this Windows install is in German, which I barely speak. So I'm going to need this in dummy-talk if possible :)

ben0207 on

Posts

  • Options
    ArcticMonkeyArcticMonkey Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    right click desktop, click nvidia control panel, go to add custom resolution. Click add resolution and write in 1366 x 768 (the most normal resolution for lcd hdtv under 40 inches). Click test button. If test fails, try another timing scheme.

    If the tv has a resolution of 1024x768, wich means non square pizels and most likely plasma, and 1366x768 makes text hard to read try 1024x576.

    If none of those work try the two hdtv resolutions 1280x720 and 1920x1080.

    ArcticMonkey on
    "You read it! You can't unread it!"
    venstre.giflobotDanceMiddle.gifhoyre.gif
  • Options
    mcdermottmcdermott Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    right click desktop, click nvidia control panel, go to add custom resolution. Click add resolution and write in 1366 x 768 (the most normal resolution for lcd hdtv under 40 inches). Click test button. If test fails, try another timing scheme.

    If the tv has a resolution of 1024x768, wich means non square pizels and most likely plasma, and 1366x768 makes text hard to read try 1024x576.

    If none of those work try the two hdtv resolutions 1280x720 and 1920x1080.

    I don't know how the nVidia equivalent works, but in my ATI control panel I can do a "detect displays," and it just detects my HDTV and only offers the appropriate resolutions and refresh rates.

    Also, it's 1376x768 or 1360x768, I forget which...but both numbers should be divisible by 16. :P

    Another thing to remember is refresh rates. Stick with 60Hz to start with...I know my TV craps out if I try 70Hz or 75Hz at most resolutions, even though they're theoretically supported (distorts the picture).

    EDIT: And don't be scared. The worst that'll happen is you'll fry her HDTV while simultaneously destroying her video card.

    mcdermott on
  • Options
    ArcticMonkeyArcticMonkey Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    mcdermott wrote: »
    Also, it's 1376x768 or 1360x768, I forget which...but both numbers should be divisible by 16. :P

    Resolutions don't have to be multiples of 16 these days and most times it looks best to run lcd screens at their native resolution.

    My current screen is not even a multiple of 4 (1680x1050).

    ArcticMonkey on
    "You read it! You can't unread it!"
    venstre.giflobotDanceMiddle.gifhoyre.gif
  • Options
    ben0207ben0207 Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Other ersolutions like 720p etc work but they flicker like a bastard, and I can't change the refresh rate on any of them.


    Wouöld switching to VGA help?

    ben0207 on
  • Options
    ArcticMonkeyArcticMonkey Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    ben0207 wrote: »
    Wouöld switching to VGA help?

    It can since VGA is sent analogue and the tv must handle the signal a different way.

    ArcticMonkey on
    "You read it! You can't unread it!"
    venstre.giflobotDanceMiddle.gifhoyre.gif
  • Options
    mcdermottmcdermott Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    mcdermott wrote: »
    Also, it's 1376x768 or 1360x768, I forget which...but both numbers should be divisible by 16. :P

    Resolutions don't have to be multiples of 16 these days and most times it looks best to run lcd screens at their native resolution.

    My current screen is not even a multiple of 4 (1680x1050).

    Well fuck me. Mine's a 1366x768 as well, I guess I just wasn't paying attention (thought it was 1360).

    And yeah, in my experience VGA is easier. And the difference in quality is negligible.

    mcdermott on
  • Options
    AngelHedgieAngelHedgie Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    AngelHedgie on
    XBL: Nox Aeternum / PSN: NoxAeternum / NN:NoxAeternum / Steam: noxaeternum
  • Options
    JWFokkerJWFokker Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    mcdermott wrote: »
    Also, it's 1376x768 or 1360x768, I forget which...but both numbers should be divisible by 16. :P

    Resolutions don't have to be multiples of 16 these days and most times it looks best to run lcd screens at their native resolution.

    My current screen is not even a multiple of 4 (1680x1050).

    Totally irrelevant. That's a MONITOR resolution, not an HDTV resolution. TVs are 16:9, monitors are 16:10.

    EDIT: Correction.

    JWFokker on
  • Options
    ArcticMonkeyArcticMonkey Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    JWFokker wrote: »
    mcdermott wrote: »
    Also, it's 1376x768 or 1360x768, I forget which...but both numbers should be divisible by 16. :P

    Resolutions don't have to be multiples of 16 these days and most times it looks best to run lcd screens at their native resolution.

    My current screen is not even a multiple of 4 (1680x1050).

    Totally irrelevant. That's a MONITOR resolution, not an HDTV resolution. TVs are 16:9, monitors are 16:10. All HDTV resolutions are still divisible by 16.

    Ehm, not according to Google.
    HDTV screens generally come in resolutions of 1366*768 and 1920*1080. Neither of those are multiples of 16.
    HDTV signals comes in resolutions of 1280*720 and 1920*1080. Only one of those are multiples of 16.

    ArcticMonkey on
    "You read it! You can't unread it!"
    venstre.giflobotDanceMiddle.gifhoyre.gif
  • Options
    TransparentTransparent Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    EDIT: I just looked up the specs for that screen, and it's 1024x768 native, and it's widescreen. You're kinda screwed.

    Here's how I get to unlisted resolutions (But this won't work in your case, see edit note above):
    Right click on the desktop
    Go to properties
    Click the settings tab
    Click advanced
    Click adapter
    Click list all modes
    Find 1366x768 60hz in the list and choose it
    OK
    OK
    OK

    Transparent on
    PAXtrain '10, let's do this!
  • Options
    ben0207ben0207 Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    EDIT: I just looked up the specs for that screen, and it's 1024x768 native, and it's widescreen. You're kinda screwed.

    Here's how I get to unlisted resolutions (But this won't work in your case, see edit note above):
    Right click on the desktop
    Go to properties
    Click the settings tab
    Click advanced
    Click adapter
    Click list all modes
    Find 1366x768 60hz in the list and choose it
    OK
    OK
    OK
    So how it is how it is? That kinda sucks. Is there a res that's within that range but the right aspect ratio so I can switch for watching films?

    ben0207 on
  • Options
    mcdermottmcdermott Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    ben0207 wrote: »
    So how it is how it is? That kinda sucks. Is there a res that's within that range but the right aspect ratio so I can switch for watching films?

    My adapter lets me choose 848x480, which is a widescreen res within that range. Then just set the TV up to fit it to the screen.

    That's usually not preferred, though, as your computer will probably perform better scaling than the TV. Another option might be to try and set the aspect ratio within the player. I'm pretty sure, for instance, that VLC will allow you to override the aspect ratio in this way, stretching a 16:9 image to fill whatever resolution you're actually running at. Never really messed around with it, though...I'm just pretty sure it's possible.

    For instance, some games will let you do this. Lego Indiana Jones is one I played recently; it runs much nicer at 1024x768 than any of the widescreen resolutions (which, IIRC, started at 1280x720), and allows you to switch the aspect ratio independent of resolution. I had my TV fit it to screen, and was good to go.

    mcdermott on
  • Options
    ben0207ben0207 Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Yeah I watched my DFVD rip of 300 last night and was able to set the aspect ratio to 16:9 (like the rip is) (it was nearly full screen and was the proper ratio - my guess is that the screen is 16:10 not 16:9). I just wasn't sure if this was the ideal way to do it

    ben0207 on
Sign In or Register to comment.