As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

College Woes

nakirushnakirush Registered User regular
edited July 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey PA Forum Goers,

It's time for me to goto college, or at least get ready to apply. I've been home-schooled my entire life, and after graduating I had no plans to further my education. I'm now twenty years old and I'm suddenly realizing how difficult it is to get a good job without a degree. Here's my dilemma: I have no idea how I'm going to afford college, or where to start.

My goal is to work in the game industry. I already have a year of industry experience under my belt (a non-paying world builder position at Simutronics) and I'm a decent artist. However, I'm a self-taught artist and I think I've reached my limits. You can see some of my art at www.jameshaskin.com/gallery.html, or here at the PA:AC.

I started looking into colleges. Damn, are they expensive! How am I supposed to pay for this? Student loans, FAFSA, scholarships? Well, I don't want to be in debt for the next twenty years; I can't figure out if I'm supposed to apply for college and then FAFSA or the other way around; and I haven't a clue of where to find scholarships.

And finally, are there any art programs you'd recommend? Right now I'm looking at the BAGD at DigiPen in Redmond, Washington. I'm open to suggestions, though.

Thanks for your time and sorry for the wall of text.

-James

nakirush on

• Options
    X3x3nonX3x3non Registered User regular
    edited July 2008