As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

hadmi cable

Conroy BumpasConroy Bumpas Registered User regular
edited July 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
im buy in sony kdl-32w4000 tomorrow and im going to need an hdmi cable (HDMI 1.3a (aparently)

they vary in price a crazy amount. i only need maybe 1m or 2m at the most.

sound will be on the optical out from my ps3 and xbox 360

so anyone got any advice or sagestion for a good quality but resnably priced cable

ta

Please note I cannot be held responsible for any mental, physical, emotional, spiritual, karma, dharma, metaphysical, religious, philosophical, Logical , Ethical, Aesthetical, or financial damage caused by this post
Conroy Bumpas on

Posts

  • Shazkar ShadowstormShazkar Shadowstorm Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    monoprice.com
    See here: http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240
    they're all the same quality, shits digital, as long as the cable isn't falling apart.

    Shazkar Shadowstorm on
    poo
  • RUNN1NGMANRUNN1NGMAN Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    If you need one tomorrow, go to Target or Walmart and buy the cheapest one.

    RUNN1NGMAN on
  • Conroy BumpasConroy Bumpas Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    so you recon a dirt cheep one will be just as good as a $40 one?

    Conroy Bumpas on
    Please note I cannot be held responsible for any mental, physical, emotional, spiritual, karma, dharma, metaphysical, religious, philosophical, Logical , Ethical, Aesthetical, or financial damage caused by this post
  • embrikembrik Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Yep, Monoprice is the answer. Scroll down in that second link and look for the 28 AWG 6 foot cables. That should cover you just fine.

    Edit: If you need optical cables, Monoprice has those too. Also nice and cheap, and it really does not matter. I have my system hooked up w/ Monoprice HDMI and Optical cables, and it runs perfectly.

    embrik on
    "Damn you and your Daily Doubles, you brigand!"

    I don't believe it - I'm on my THIRD PS3, and my FIRST XBOX360. What the heck?
  • WillethWilleth Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Yeah, buy the cheapest you can. You will get absolutely no difference in quality from a $2 cable to a $90 one.

    However, if you want to get HDMI video and optical audio from your 360, your only solution is Microsoft's HDMI cable with optical breakout.

    Willeth on
    @vgreminders - Don't miss out on timed events in gaming!
    @gamefacts - Totally and utterly true gaming facts on the regular!
  • embrikembrik Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Willeth wrote: »
    Yeah, buy the cheapest you can. You will get absolutely no difference in quality from a $2 cable to a $90 one.

    However, if you want to get HDMI video and optical audio from your 360, your only solution is Microsoft's HDMI cable with optical breakout.

    I think the OP means that it'll be HDMI from the receiver to the TV, but Component & optical from the game systems. (Although, that's just a guess, as the post wasn't totally clear.)

    embrik on
    "Damn you and your Daily Doubles, you brigand!"

    I don't believe it - I'm on my THIRD PS3, and my FIRST XBOX360. What the heck?
  • Conroy BumpasConroy Bumpas Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    360 hdmi break out cable....... what a pain in the ass

    Conroy Bumpas on
    Please note I cannot be held responsible for any mental, physical, emotional, spiritual, karma, dharma, metaphysical, religious, philosophical, Logical , Ethical, Aesthetical, or financial damage caused by this post
  • Shazkar ShadowstormShazkar Shadowstorm Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    360 hdmi break out cable....... what a pain in the ass
    I agree. The price of that cable alone was what made me be like, fuck it, I'll just get an Elite since it comes with one.

    Shazkar Shadowstorm on
    poo
  • mastmanmastman Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    take the component adapter that comes with the pro and tear off that stupid large plastic cover. Then you can use your own hdmi cable + the optical audio out on that adapter with no problems.

    mastman on
    ByalIX8.png
    B.net: Kusanku
  • WillethWilleth Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    mastman wrote: »
    take the component adapter that comes with the pro and tear off that stupid large plastic cover. Then you can use your own hdmi cable + the optical audio out on that adapter with no problems.

    Actually, this causes input selection problems on some TVs for some reason.

    Willeth on
    @vgreminders - Don't miss out on timed events in gaming!
    @gamefacts - Totally and utterly true gaming facts on the regular!
  • Conroy BumpasConroy Bumpas Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    and that breakout cable isnt avalable in the uk .... where i live

    Conroy Bumpas on
    Please note I cannot be held responsible for any mental, physical, emotional, spiritual, karma, dharma, metaphysical, religious, philosophical, Logical , Ethical, Aesthetical, or financial damage caused by this post
  • WillethWilleth Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    and that breakout cable isnt avalable in the uk .... where i live

    I could have sworn I've seen it in shops.

    EDIT: That's what you want.

    Willeth on
    @vgreminders - Don't miss out on timed events in gaming!
    @gamefacts - Totally and utterly true gaming facts on the regular!
Sign In or Register to comment.