As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

360 Halo Edition reliability and DRM Tool Curiousity

EvanderEvander Disappointed FatherRegistered User regular
edited July 2008 in Games and Technology
So, I have an opportunity to swap my current pre-HDMI 360 Pro for a used Halo Edition 360 for only about what a 3rd party HDMI adapter costs. I've looked at the system, and it looks clean and everything, but I just want to know, from folks who own them, if there is anything to be wary of here. I've kept my current unit (bought April of 2007) RRoD free, so I'm not concerned about how to take of it, but I want to know if there are any specific defects or issues that I should be aware of.

Also, I'm curious if anyone has used the DRM transfer web-tool, and how well it actually works. I intend to keep my current HDD (120 gigs) so transfering the actual data isn't a concern, but I want to make sure I'll be able to play everything off-line too. Will it be at all an issue that the Halo unit is used?

If I think of any other questions, I'll add them in here as well.



Any helpful advice or comments are GREATLY appreciated.

Evander on

Posts

  • Options
    RainbowDespairRainbowDespair Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    The DRM transfer web tool worked fantastically for me (and took all of 5 minutes) and I was transferring from an Asian 360 to a US 360 so I can't imagine there being a problem with a Halo 360.

    RainbowDespair on
  • Options
    SakeidoSakeido Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Can't comment on the DRM transfer tool... but my Halo 360 was a piece of junk. I had it only for about a month, and in that time, I had the LAN port on two of them stop working altogether. They both came loose almost right away because at the time I would swap my internet cable back and forth from my PC to my 360. Eventually, it would not connect at all and I had to get them exchanged in store. Then I sold it because it just wasn't worth the trouble.

    Sakeido on
  • Options
    AccualtAccualt Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    The two people I know with Halo 360s have never had any problems with them.

    The DRM transfer tool was easy as all hell to use.

    Accualt on
  • Options
    schmadsschmads Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    My Halo 360 is chugging along fine, and Sakeido's is the first report I've seen of one failing, but I need to look into this DRM transfer tool thingy, I hadn't heard about it before.

    schmads on
    Battle.net/SC2: Kwisatz.868 | Steam/XBL/PSN/Gamecenter: schmads | BattleTag/D3: Schmads#1144 | Hero Academy & * With Friends: FallenKwisatz | 3DS: 4356-0128-9671
  • Options
    SePh1r0tHSePh1r0tH Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    I had my Halo Edition since October and never had a problem until a few weeks ago. It stopped detecting ethernet cables so I had to send it in to Microsoft. They replaced it with a new Halo edition. Other then that no problems.

    SePh1r0tH on
    FC.jpg
  • Options
    EvanderEvander Disappointed Father Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Alright, I'm heading out to go get this done.

    Evander on
  • Options
    EvanderEvander Disappointed Father Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    hooked it up, and so far so good.

    Now to use the DRM tool...



    edit: liscense transfer took less than a minute. Now to redownload hundreds of items...

    Evander on
  • Options
    EvilBadmanEvilBadman DO NOT TRUST THIS MAN Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    Evander wrote: »
    hooked it up, and so far so good.

    Now to use the DRM tool...



    edit: liscense transfer took less than a minute. Now to redownload hundreds of items...

    If they're already on your HD it'll just update the downloads instead of downloading the whole file, taking much much less time.

    EvilBadman on
    FyreWulff wrote: »
    I should note that Badman is fucking awesome
    XBL- Evil Badman; Steam- EvilBadman; Twitter - EvilBadman
  • Options
    NailbunnyPDNailbunnyPD Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    EvilBadman wrote: »
    Evander wrote: »
    hooked it up, and so far so good.

    Now to use the DRM tool...



    edit: liscense transfer took less than a minute. Now to redownload hundreds of items...

    If they're already on your HD it'll just update the downloads instead of downloading the whole file, taking much much less time.

    But you still have to manually redownload each item. You can save some time by going through your download history under Account Management, but its still a pain.

    NailbunnyPD on
    XBL: NailbunnyPD PSN: NailbunnyPD Origin: NailbunnyPD
    NintendoID: Nailbunny 3DS: 3909-8796-4685
    steam_sig-400.png
  • Options
    EvanderEvander Disappointed Father Registered User regular
    edited July 2008
    That took HOURS, and was incredibly tedious.

    They REALLY ought to find a way to automate that process.

    Evander on
Sign In or Register to comment.