As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Excel Question - SOLVED!

reddogreddog The MountainBrooklyn, NYRegistered User regular
edited August 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I work in the concert industry and we keep records of the shows we book for each artist in Excel. I need your help guys. I have 3 columns: DATE, CITY, CONCERT VENUE

Currently they're all going in date order. What we want to see is how many times the band has played every city.

I know I can select the CITY column and with the click of a button it'll go in alphabetical order so we can see that they've played Memphis like 5 times. What I can't figure out is...how can I put it in alphabetical order by city but have the venues move with the cities (mind you the cities won't be in alphabetical order).

Help me H/A Forum...I need your help!

EDIT: THANKS GUYS!

reddog.png
reddog on

• Options
    Bliss 101Bliss 101 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    I'm not sure I understood the question, but doesn't this solve your problem: Just select the entire table, go to Data -> Sort, select City as the primary sorting criterion and Venue as secondary?

Bliss 101 on
    MSL59.jpg
  • Options
    -Phil--Phil- Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Pivot Tables are your friend.

Step 1 - Highlight all the data to include the column heading

Step 2 - Select [Data] then [Pivot Table and Pivot Chart Report]

Step 3 - Follow instructions

-Phil- on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Options
    reddogreddog The Mountain Brooklyn, NYRegistered User regular
    edited August 2008
    -Phil- wrote: »
    Pivot Tables are your friend.

Step 1 - Highlight all the data to include the column heading

Step 2 - Select [Data] then [Pivot Table and Pivot Chart Report]

Step 3 - Follow instructions

Sick!!!!!!