As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Joining the Canadian Forces

YourFatAuntSusanYourFatAuntSusan Registered User regular
edited September 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
So i've been contemplating joining the Canadian Forces for many years (i'm 26) and have decided to pull the trigger and actually go for it. I'll be applying as an AVN Tech (Aviation Systems Technician) if all goes well. I currently work for a pretty successful corporate domain registrar, and while it's great, it's not a place I will retire at 65 from and I have no real backup plan except for a diploma in graphic and web-design that I haven’t used in 6 years.

Has anyone gone through the BMQ at Fort-Saint Jean Sur Richelieu, Québec? Was it what you expected? Was it worse? I’ve watched the Forces created “Basic Up” videos that are on YouTube but have been told it’s not an accurate description of the BMQ and that it’s a lot less “hard” than the actually training.

Does anyone have any tips for telling my poor, dear mother? She won’t like this one bit, I’m sure.

Thanks.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
YourFatAuntSusan on

• CycophantCycophant Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Ha, weird.

I was in the military a few years ago (as Infantry), left, and now I'm apprenticing my way through the civilian counterpart to AVN Tech. I've aso met a few guys who used to be an AVN Tech in the military in my career so far, so I've got a bit knowledge on that front, along with actually being in the CF for a few years.

Fire off any questions you'd like, and I'll try and answer the best I can. I can't remember the differences between the job titles, so which end of aircraft maintenance are you going into, Avionics (electronics/etc.) or Maintenance (Mechanics/etc.)?