As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

How to start a website!

templewulftemplewulf The Team ChumpUSARegistered User regular
All right, guys, I have to admit something embarrassing. I'm pretty well-versed in technology. I've been writing html, javascript, CSS, C++, C#, Java, etc. for years. I program medical software for a living.

But...

I've never set up my own website! I've toyed with angelfire, Google Sites and others over the years, but I've never opened one with my own domain name and AdSense and all the accoutrements of a professional site.

So, what can you suggest for me, PA? Here are my major questions / requests:
  1. Where should I register a domain name?
  2. Where should I buy web space? Is there a free web space server that allows AdSense / other advertisements?
  3. What kinds of features should I look for? Ideally, I'd like PHP, but I need at least CSS and SSI.
  4. Do some providers have better reputations for security and robustness? Who should I avoid?
  5. I use notepad & CSS for designing my sites. What do professionals use? What features differentiate that from my DIY approach?

If you can amend my list to include any prepations I've forgotten, or if you care to share your experience in setting up your own site, please discuss!

Twitch.tv/FiercePunchStudios | PSN | Steam | Discord | SFV CFN: templewulf
templewulf on

• Options
    CmdPromptCmdPrompt Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    1. I'm a fan of Namecheap, or if you just need one domain, see #2.