As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

A weird privacy problem (or, I'm neurotic)

wasted pixelswasted pixels Registered User regular
edited November 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm semi-living with my girlfriend, and it's mostly great. We're a happy couple, I love being with her, and life is pretty good, save for one increasingly problematic thing: I'm a freelancer, and for some reason, I can't concentrate on my work at ALL when she's around.

I think some background is probably called for. I moved out on my 18th birthday, and I've lived alone ever since. For around five years I've had complete and total privacy, and combined with the fact that my work frequently involves some pretty hardcore non-disclosure agreements, I've gotten in the habit of being very, very reclusive when it comes to work. At one point I even leased an office for a while because I wasn't comfortable with my files and equipment sitting around my house when I had friends over.

When I moved in, my girlfriend helped me set up a very private little corner for my home office. The desk faces against the rest of the room, so my monitor and work surface are completely private, and my girlfriend has been extremely respectful about not messing with my things or snooping while I work -- she even asks if it's okay for her to come around to my side to bring me coffee or get a hug. In spite of this, though, I still just can't get comfortable working when she's in the apartment, and I've resorted to working while she's at class or in bed (which cuts into my productivity HORRIBLY, and is starting to cause a bit of tension with my clients because I'm not always available during my normal 10 to 6 hours).