As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Best shmups ever?

Marty81Marty81 Registered User regular
edited November 2008 in Games and Technology
Somehow, I managed to miss this genre entirely up until now. I downloaded Jets n Guns gold on a whim one day a while ago when it was being offered for free (some game giveaway site) and I just started playing it a week ago. I finished it last night, and damn it was fun! So now I'm looking for more games in the same genre. I particularly liked the weapon upgrading, but I hear that not many shmups offer this. So, what's the best that history has to offer?

Marty81 on

• Options
    KhavallKhavall British ColumbiaRegistered User regular
    edited November 2008
    Ikaruga

Khavall on
  • Options
    YodaTunaYodaTuna Registered User regular
    edited November 2008
    Khavall wrote: »
    Ikaruga

Bam. Thread over.

Although 1942 and it's sequels are very special to me <3

YodaTuna on
  • Options
    FreddyDFreddyD Registered User regular
    edited November 2008
    Zero Gunner 2 was pretty awesome. I also enjoyed Raiden 2, Gradius 3, Mars Matrix, Under Defeat, and Bangai-O.

FreddyD on
  • Options
    FaffelFaffel Registered User regular
    edited November 2008
    Psyvariar 2 is the best.

Faffel on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Options
    FremFrem Registered User regular
    edited November 2008
    The stuff by ABA Games is always enjoyable. Specifically Titanion; I always liked Galaga, and it feels decently close. Nothing has topped Geometry Wars for me, though.

Frem on
  • Options
    mastriusmastrius Registered User regular
    edited November 2008
    YodaTuna wrote: »
    Khavall wrote: »
    Ikaruga

Bam. Thread over.

Although 1942 and it's sequels are very special to me <3