As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Laptop as a wireless bridge for 360?

GorkGork Registered User regular
edited December 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Is it possible to use my laptop as a wireless bridge for my 360? If so, how? Thanks.

Gork on

Posts

  • Sir Headless VIISir Headless VII Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    It is possible, one of the guys i used to live with used to do it. As to how to do it I don't know but Google turned up a bunch of guides when I did a search.

    Sir Headless VII on
    Steam - Backpack - Bnet: SirHeadless #1154
    7KEFduI.jpg
  • illigillig Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    you'll need to connect the 360 to your laptop via network cable, and then enable "internet connection sharing" on that port... that should be it, assuming you're running windows

    mac or lunix, you'll need to google for info

    illig on
  • Chief1138Chief1138 Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    Yep, that's pretty much it. I do this all the time when I go home for breaks so I can play from my room. Sure beats buying one of those $99 wireless adapters.

    Chief1138 on
  • KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    I wonder if this would work if I ran windows in VMware on my mac and configured it that way.

    KalTorak on
  • saint2esaint2e Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    You will need a crossover cable to connect the xbox to the laptop, keep in mind.

    saint2e on
    banner_160x60_01.gif
  • rfaliasrfalias Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    saint2e wrote: »
    You will need a crossover cable to connect the xbox to the laptop, keep in mind.

    Was just going to say that. *shakefist*

    rfalias on
  • DHS OdiumDHS Odium Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    It's actually easier on OS X than on Windows, in my experience. Also, you don't need a crossover cable. I've never used a crossover cable ever, and always got it working.

    DHS Odium on
    Wii U: DHS-Odium // Live: DHS Odium // PSN: DHSOdium // Steam: dhsykes // 3DS: 0318-6615-5294
  • DelzhandDelzhand Hard to miss. Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    I just used the network cable that came with my XBox, and it worked fine.

    Delzhand on
  • GorkGork Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    Okay, it worked, but it was a bit wonky and not like the guide I found online.

    I connected the two with a regular network cable, opened my network connection center, selected my wireless connection and my ethernet connection, right clicked and hit bridge connections. After that finished, I had to go to the network settings on my 360 and hit test XBOX Live connection. Once that completed, everything worked fine.

    Gork on
  • MurphysParadoxMurphysParadox Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    Just keep in mind that you cannot use the ethernet port on the laptop for anything but as a bridge until the settings are reverted.

    MurphysParadox on
    Murphy's Law: Whatever can go wrong will go wrong.
    Murphy's Paradox: The more you plan, the more that can go wrong. The less you plan, the less likely your plan will succeed.
Sign In or Register to comment.