As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

I'm so tired of this shit I wanna...

• oogmaroogmar Registered User regular
    edited December 2008
    I'm a senior line cook. When somebody quits, their hours immediately get foisted on myself and the manager. I have lost count of how many 16 day 'weeks' I've had, working upwards of 85 hours/week with time and a half for over-time, and the HR/payroll guy crying at me for hitting overtime. This just seems normal to me anymore. A short week is 45 hours.

It would be great if I worked at say, Target... or an office, or doing pretty much anything but essentially reclining face down over a stovetop of 12 blazing burners, glowing red cast iron, spitting oil, and delicious cookings.

When I work that much, food becomes incredibly nauseating. So not only I'm doing massive upper-body workouts in ridiculous heat and close, stifling conditions, but my blood sugar gets ridiculously low due to how nasty food seems most of the time.

And I want to go to school so I can cement my ability to work this type of job for the rest of my life.

I've been on my paid vacation, so I'm on day 5 of no work (a strange, disconnected feeling), and for some reason this tightness that starts in my right elbow and runs all the way across my shoulders to the round of my left shoulder is loosening. Maybe it's because I'm not flipping a pan every three seconds or hauling around blue-lids full of boiling liquids. Craziness.

Now, tell me how rough your overtime is. Really. :P

PS: If it weren't for cigarettes, I would have murdered everybody I know. And cooked them.

oogmar on
    Rane, you lazy bastard, you can shut the hell up.

enforceruserbarsplitcro.png
  • MysstMysst King Monkey of Hedonism IslandRegistered User regular
    edited December 2008