As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

flash drive issues

shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
edited February 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
my sister brought me her ibm thinkpad notebook. she told me that when she plugs in her ipod, she can't find it in itunes.
i brought it in to work and plugged in one of the flashdrives we have with virus removal software just to see if the problem was a virus or something
i plugged in the drive and windows made the little "beep beep" nose that lets you know when you've plugged something into a usb port, but it the autoplay feature didn't work
i checked "my computer" and found that it wasn't recognising the drive at all. i asked my boss for his opinion, and he told me to check the disk management. it doesn't show up there, either
the device shows up in the device manager as an unknown device, with the name of it, a diskgo flash drive (which i think is kind of weird. it's an "unknown" device, yet windows knows what it is)
it has windows xp pro, corporate edition on it, and i tried downloading SP3, and any other updates, to see if that would work, but had no luck
i've been doing a little online research, but all that i've found is forums posted in '05 concerning issues with SP2, so that doesn't really help me
the system is an imb thinkpad, made in 2003, if that helps at all. 'cause i don't remember when usb 2.0 came out :/

shmappy2004 on

Posts

  • Pocket Size AsianPocket Size Asian Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    have you tried making the flash drive a different letter? For example, if the computer is reading the drive as E and there is already something on E, all you have to do is right click the flash drive and change the drive letter to Z or something.

    Pocket Size Asian on
    ---Pocket Size Asian---
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    nope, xp doesn't recognize it at all in my computer or the disk management thing
    the only place it recognizes it is in the device manager, and it sees it as an unknown device

    shmappy2004 on
  • Pocket Size AsianPocket Size Asian Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    Oh okay. I'm sorry. I didn't read your post correctly. Maybe uninstalling the driver for the USB and reinstalling it back in might help. You can get the driver off the manufacture website.

    Pocket Size Asian on
    ---Pocket Size Asian---
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    hm, was thinking of doing that.
    i'll give it a try

    shmappy2004 on
  • Pocket Size AsianPocket Size Asian Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    I hope it works. :)

    Pocket Size Asian on
    ---Pocket Size Asian---
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    You may want to try a USB port on the back of your PC. Sometimes the front ports are USB 1.1 and the USB 2.0 device doesn't play nice with it.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    bowen wrote: »
    You may want to try a USB port on the back of your PC. Sometimes the front ports are USB 1.1 and the USB 2.0 device doesn't play nice with it.

    it's a laptop. and this particular one only has two ports on the left side
    it's an ibm thinkpad t42 (i think. don't really know too much about imb computers...)

    shmappy2004 on
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    Probably all 1.1 at that point. You may not have luck with that particular PC.

    Try it on a computer that you know it'll work on.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • MichaelLCMichaelLC In what furnace was thy brain? ChicagoRegistered User regular
    edited February 2009
    It sounds like the problem is the laptop, not the drive, right?

    Do you have any powered devices you could try? Like an ext. CD writter or something?

    MichaelLC on
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    we use this flash drive all the time on every computer that comes in that needs virus removal, or the driver for the usb wireless modem thingy
    and when i was home, i used my flash drive
    you think that it's 1.1?
    the laptop might be that old...

    and im looking up the system on the ibm website, and i can't find the blippin' model number for the driver search >_<
    would be so nice if there was a lable in like neon yellow that said "model number"
    haha

    shmappy2004 on
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    MichaelLC wrote: »
    It sounds like the problem is the laptop, not the drive, right?

    Do you have any powered devices you could try? Like an ext. CD writter or something?

    ah, yes, we have an external cd drive here at the shop
    but it wouldn't recognize my sister's ipod, or two different flash drives.

    i have an old 256 MB flash drive. not a darn clue if it's 1.1 or 2.0, though...
    gunna try using the old flash drive for the heck of it.

    shmappy2004 on
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    nevermind, just checked it. it's 2.0 >_<

    shmappy2004 on
  • MichaelLCMichaelLC In what furnace was thy brain? ChicagoRegistered User regular
    edited February 2009
    For finding the model #, I heard sometimes IBM would engrave it on the inside of the nipple. Try prying it out.

    Wouldn't the POST or BIOS screen show it?

    EDIT: I just thought a powered device might have more luck. But yeah, if 3 drives don't work, it probably wouldn't matter.

    MichaelLC on
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    the nipple?

    shmappy2004 on
  • Pocket Size AsianPocket Size Asian Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    My job uses IBM computers and sometimes its on the inside of the screen in the bottom, right corner. Maybe under the battery...

    Pocket Size Asian on
    ---Pocket Size Asian---
  • MichaelLCMichaelLC In what furnace was thy brain? ChicagoRegistered User regular
    edited February 2009
    MichaelLC on
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    MichaelLC wrote: »

    all i have to say about that is oh.. my... god
    lol

    shmappy2004 on
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    My job uses IBM computers and sometimes its on the inside of the screen in the bottom, right corner. Maybe under the battery...

    inside of the screen?

    shmappy2004 on
  • tastydonutstastydonuts Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    The Model information should be on the sticker that's on the bottom of the laptop along with its service tag and other stuff.

    You may be able to identify this by the barcode that contains the same info.

    The model of the laptop is T42. The type is what you want, I believe.

    tastydonuts on
    “I used to draw, hard to admit that I used to draw...”
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    The Model information should be on the sticker that's on the bottom of the laptop along with its service tag and other stuff.

    You may be able to identify this by the barcode that contains the same info.

    The model of the laptop is T42. The type is what you want, I believe.

    typed in a whole bunch of crap that was next to a barcode on the bottom of the thing and each time the website told me that it's an invalid type or whatever

    shmappy2004 on
  • tastydonutstastydonuts Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    Is this a Lenovo or IBM branded thinkpad, btw?

    tastydonuts on
    “I used to draw, hard to admit that I used to draw...”
  • Count FunkulaCount Funkula Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    If the laptop doesn't recognize an iPod and two different flash drives, chances are the USB port and/or related circuitry/system board is broken somehow. It might be just broken enough that it recognizes that a device is plugged in but can't communicate with the device. If a driver re-install doesn't help and a re-image of the device doesn't do any good, then the problem is in the laptop hardware somewhere.

    For thinkpads, they have a type number that is on the bottom of the laptop, on a sticker like someone mentioned above.

    Check out this link for an example:

    http://blogs.techrepublic.com.com/classic-tech/?p=178

    Look for something like Type 2630-5TU, they are always a four digit number followed by a dash and a three digit code.

    Count Funkula on
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    Is this a Lenovo or IBM branded thinkpad, btw?

    heck if i know, lol. i know nothing about ibm
    it says ibm on it, and the logo on start is an ibm logo
    i re-imaged the system, and one of the drivers was lenovo, if that helps at all
    but, anyway
    i reformatted, re-installed the os, and it recognised both the external wireless card/modem thing, and one of the flash drives i was trying to use. so, i think we're good
    i've fixed all the driver conflicts but one, which was a usb thing. i used driveragent to find the drivers, and the one for the usb had this huge list of drivers according to which service pack the system is using. so im going to update it after i finish downloading any and all microsoft updates.
    let us pray that the darn thing will still work...

    shmappy2004 on
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    ggrrrrrr, microsoft sucks!
    when i did the clean install, i used a generic xp pro corporate edition cd, and it took the product key on the bottom of the laptop with no problems, and i was able to activate windows with no issues
    i go to install some updates, and windows tells me that i can't 'cause i don't have an authentic/valid/whatever version of windows
    so, i did another clean isntall, with another generic xp cd, but this time, it was just xp pro, not xp pro corportate. and i couldn't activate windows over the net for whatever fricken reason, so i called up the stupid activation line
    had the automated voice tell me th at it's not authentic, so i have to be transferred to a person.
    i explained to the about using the generic xp pro and the xp pro corporate product key, and he's all "oh, don't worry about it, it will work just fine"
    fricken liar, he tells me that he can't activate it 'cause the fookin' thing is invalid, and i have to contact the manufacturer of the darn system to get a new one >_<
    someone please shoot me now!

    shmappy2004 on
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    I know I'm a complete asshole for asking this, but you work at a PC repair shop right? Some of this stuff is pretty generic. Are you interning under someone or are you using us for free tech support?

    [tiny]I'm a nice guy, I swear.[/tiny]

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    um, intern
    and the second i started my internship, i kinda felt that the school i went to was kind of a waste of money 'cause i learned more on teh job in one day than in the entire 9-month program of the trade school i went to

    shmappy2004 on
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    Okay cool. I just hate to be the asshole that asked. I also didn't want you to keep coming here and risk losing your job because you spend 8 hours trying something we suggest. ;)

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    lol, ok
    i don't spend 8 hours waiting for replies anyway, lol. i surf the net looking for answers. i only post threads here for the problems that i cant seem to find any helpful information for from the net

    shmappy2004 on
  • tastydonutstastydonuts Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    Is this a campus repair shop? If so, they/you should have access to the shared software whatever to get a legitimate copy of the OS...

    -OR- your sister can get it and then have it installed, assuming she's a student in a university.

    tastydonuts on
    “I used to draw, hard to admit that I used to draw...”
  • shmappy2004shmappy2004 Registered User regular
    edited February 2009
    im an intern at a repair shop, and my supervisor doesn't have any of his certifications, so he cant' get his hands on any copies of the software
    and my sister was given the computer as a sort of hand-me-down from her father-in-law, so, i don't really know if she can get the os cds from him, or if he even saved them
    im going to try using my... er.. crack cd tomorrow. it's just xp pro, not xp pro corporate, but i won't have to worry about it being recognized as unauthentic or anything
    if that doesn't work, then im gunna have to listen to her yell at me about how "every computer of hers that i touch breaks" >_<

    shmappy2004 on
Sign In or Register to comment.