As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

I want to make Fallout 3

anachronistanachronist Registered User regular
edited November 2006 in Help / Advice Forum
So I've been bitching to my friends recently about the quality of RPGs available for the PC. My premise is that there is a large untapped market for RPG games like Fallout or Baldur's Gate/Icewind Dale, and that it would not be very hard or expensive to create such a game. So finally, my friends called me on it and said, "ok, so when are you going to start?"

I've got some cash saved up, so I have the seed money to make this happen. I am a project manager in the IT department at a large comapny, so I know how to deliver a project like this. But accounting applications and games are different animals, so I need advice on two fronts - building the game, and delivering it.

Bulding the game
I've got some basic ideas, but I need to know if they are realistic:
Voices - just place an ad in Variety, pay 2 people $1000 and we're be done in one day
Music - use public domain classical music
Sound effects - use some little post-production company's sound library, might cost a couple grand.
Graphics - Hire some struggling comic book guy to do the artwork. Make the game sprite based with scrolling painted background. It does not need to be fancy, remember. I could even put out requests to the gaming community to submit artwork, which would be free.
Ruleset - use public domain d20 system.
Programming - This is the hardest part. I could outsource this to Eastern Europe, but I don't even know where to begin with the designs. What does a game design look like and contain?

Delivering the Game