As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

So...the banjo.

DeadfallDeadfall I don't think you realize just how rich he is.In fact, I should put on a monocle.Registered User regular
edited April 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
As a teacher, I have two months off starting in June, and well, as much as I'd like to spend that time playing video games, I'd like to learn something new.

For some reason, I have become incredibly interested in learning the banjo. I don't know why. I'm not particularly fond of bluegrass, but I'm a huge Flogging Molly/Pogues/Tossers fan, so maybe that's it. Plus, I think the banjo sounds interesting and just plain looks fun to play.

Does anybody have any experience in it? Is it particularly difficult to learn compared to the guitar? I don't play the guitar, if that helps, though I picked it up pretty quick in 7th grade Basic Music class. What about varying qualities? Guitarcenter.com lists banjos anywhere from $300 to $50,000 (!). Are banjos worth purchasing used or is it worth it to buy a (relatively) cheap new one? I think I could probably find a used one around here if I looked hard enough.

Can you self-learn through books/DVDs or are teachers the way to go? It doesn't seem like a widely-taught instrument, but I could be wrong.

Help me get my hoe-down on.

7ivi73p71dgy.png
xbl - HowYouGetAnts
steam - WeAreAllGeth
Deadfall on

• Options
    JivesJives Registered User regular
    edited April 2009
    My banjo was bought from a junk yard then refitted and it sounds fine, so it seems you can get a good sounding one pretty cheap. Playing the banjo is no more or less difficult than guitar in my experience, although its more vital to have finger picking down

Jives on
  • Options
    rocketshipreadyrocketshipready Registered User regular