As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Just brought a 9800GT video card. Computer wont power up after install.(SOLVED)

Casually HardcoreCasually Hardcore Once an Asshole. Trying to be better.Registered User regular
edited June 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Hi,

I just recently brought this video card

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814143187

and computer refuses to power up after install. I press the 'on' button, nothing happens. Yes I do have the power supply on. I reinstall my old graphics card (EVGA 7900) and it works fine.

I'm suspecting power supply. My current power supply is an off brand and a few years old. My power supply is this.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817189003

Any suggesting?

Casually Hardcore on

Posts

  • Options
    Mr BlondeMr Blonde Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Would a computer even post if it couldn't support the power draws of a higher end graphics card? I'm not sure, but that might be my best guess. Swap in your old graphics card and see if it boots.

    Also, you plugged it in, right? Wasn't mentioned.

    Mr Blonde on
  • Options
    WileyWiley In the dirt.Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    My guess would be your off brand power supply can't provide the juice needed. Last time I bought a new graphics card I didn't pay attention to the power supply requirements and had issues getting it to work until I upgraded the supply.

    Wiley on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    Casually HardcoreCasually Hardcore Once an Asshole. Trying to be better. Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Graphic card is plugged in.

    Computer powers up with old graphic card.

    Casually Hardcore on
  • Options
    ScosglenScosglen Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    when you say "doesn't power up", are you getting no fans spinning, no post beep or anything?

    Scosglen on
  • Options
    Casually HardcoreCasually Hardcore Once an Asshole. Trying to be better. Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    No fans, no beep, no nothing

    Casually Hardcore on
  • Options
    PeregrineFalconPeregrineFalcon Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    When you brought it, did you bring it all the way into the PCIe slot?

    Try removing/remounting it. Sounds almost like it's shorting out if you get no fans/no beep/no nothing.

    Also damn son, that's some ghettastical PSU you got there. Get something better.

    PeregrineFalcon on
    Looking for a DX:HR OnLive code for my kid brother.
    Can trade TF2 items or whatever else you're interested in. PM me.
  • Options
    Mr BlondeMr Blonde Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    What's the wattage of your power supply?

    Mr Blonde on
  • Options
    Casually HardcoreCasually Hardcore Once an Asshole. Trying to be better. Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Just tried uninstalling and reinstalling it, still nothing.

    Maximum wattage on PSU is 450W

    Casually Hardcore on
  • Options
    TofystedethTofystedeth Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Wow. Those are some really wimpy 12V rails. I'm not surprised they can't run that card. You probably want something with at least 25A.
    If you gotta go cheap PSU, get something like this
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817170017
    Which at least has a fairly beefy 12V rail and a ton of good reviews. Got one for my friend when his crapped out and it's worked just fine.

    Tofystedeth on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    WileyWiley In the dirt.Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Card requires at least 22a from 12v, unless I'm looking at it wrong your PSU only provides 17.

    Wiley on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    Casually HardcoreCasually Hardcore Once an Asshole. Trying to be better. Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Hmm....that would be obvious but I was always under the assumption that it ment combined amperage.

    Well...I guess it's a good time to upgrade my PSU whether it not it's the problem.

    Casually Hardcore on
  • Options
    WileyWiley In the dirt.Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Yeah. The way it's worded it does look like it should be good enough. If you have the spare cash go buy a new PSU to check it out. If it doesn't fix it just return it and RMA the card.

    Wiley on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    Casually HardcoreCasually Hardcore Once an Asshole. Trying to be better. Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Went to Microcenter, grab a PSU, stuck it in an it worked!

    Damn, dont you hate it when a $100 upgrade turns into a $200 upgrade?

    For those who are curious, I did the right thing and grab a good PSU this time:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

    Hopefully this'll future proof me, seeing how I might as well grab a new MOBO, another HD, more RAM, and another processor.

    Casually Hardcore on
  • Options
    Captain VashCaptain Vash Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Funny story that's the same PSU I have.
    Funnier story it was recommended to me by someone else in the H/A section before.

    I'm finding that it runs kinda loud.

    Captain Vash on
    twitterforweb.Stuckens.1,1,500,f4f4f4,0,c4c4c4,000000.png
  • Options
    Casually HardcoreCasually Hardcore Once an Asshole. Trying to be better. Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    My initial complaint is that it haves enough wiring to provide an electrical infrastructure for a small third world country. Other then that (and it isnt even a real complaint, just a 'damn'), it's a very solid unit at a very good price. My tower is a lot quieter then what it was before. Shoulda done this sooner.

    Casually Hardcore on
  • Options
    proXimityproXimity Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Funny story that's the same PSU I have.
    Funnier story it was recommended to me by someone else in the H/A section before.

    It's like a H/A STPSU, except not sexually transmitted...

    proXimity on
    camo_sig2.png
Sign In or Register to comment.