As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help with gearing up for Peru!

Evil GummyEvil Gummy Registered User regular
edited June 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
So, at the end of July I will be traveling to Peru for two weeks. On my itinerary is going to be some hiking, as I've always dreamed of exploring some trails, and also marching to Machu Pichu.

I haven't settled on any one trail yet, and I hear the environment there can vary.

So kind lads, help me out here. I need to find a good backpack, and good hiking shoes, for a small sized female. I'll be going to REI tomorrow and am trying to NOT be completely unprepared!

Also, any other recommendations for gear I might need. My main goals are keeping it light, I don't mind roughing it, my major issue will only be I HATE being cold, and also don't want to lug a bag full of concrete around for days...

hatsig.jpg
Evil Gummy on

• Options
    matt has a problemmatt has a problem Points to 'off' Points to 'on'Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    The best idea would probably be to go to REI and tell them you're going to Peru, and what you're going to do. The only advice I can think of off the top of my head is to wear any hiking boots you buy for at least a week before you leave, because new hiking boots + trail = horrifying blisters. They need to be broken in first. Are you going to be doing any overnight camping, or just day hikes?

matt has a problem on
    nibXTE7.png
  • Options
    CauldCauld Registered User regular
    edited June 2009