Firefox 3.5 is out

2»

Posts

  • DalbozDalboz Resident Puppy Eater Right behind you...Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    So, I've installed 3.5 now and, yes, it is noticably faster when browsing. However, this seems to be made up for in that Firefox now takes forgoddamnever to load to begin with. I swear that it's slower than the olden days when trying to load Netscape 4. It's really annoying. None of the previous versions took this long to load for me.

    Dalboz on
  • EchoEcho Moderator mod
    edited July 2009
    Echo on
    Echo wrote: »
    Let they who have not posted about their balls in the wrong thread cast the first stone.
  • Recoil42Recoil42 Registered User
    edited July 2009
    Echo wrote: »

    Holy fuck that's accurate.

    Recoil42 on
  • MKRMKR Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    It's much faster, but its memory appetite isn't any better. I still can't have it and SharpDevelop open without windows taking at least a minute to switch between them after I've had FF open for a while.

    MKR on
  • TaranisTaranis Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Echo wrote: »

    Wow, the potential for abuse of this feature is frightening.

    Taranis on
    EH28YFo.jpg
  • CyvrosCyvros London 1965Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Taranis wrote: »
    Echo wrote: »

    Wow, the potential for abuse of this feature is frightening.
    "When you visit a page that requests your information, you’ll be asked before any information is shared with the requesting website and our third-party service provider."

    I'm going to try this out. Just have to find some sites that use it first.

    Cyvros on
  • TaranisTaranis Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Cyvros wrote: »
    Taranis wrote: »
    Echo wrote: »

    Wow, the potential for abuse of this feature is frightening.
    "When you visit a page that requests your information, you’ll be asked before any information is shared with the requesting website and our third-party service provider."

    I read that. Using that feature even once would seem to put you at risk.

    Taranis on
    EH28YFo.jpg
  • CyvrosCyvros London 1965Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Fair enough. You'd have to be sure about whether or not you trust a site. I currently don't mind it too much because it seems to have me down as being in the centre of the city (I'm in the suburbs).

    Cyvros on
  • SarksusSarksus Paul Atreides holding a pugRegistered User regular
    edited July 2009
    All it does is use your IP address and information regarding local wireless access points to estimate your location. If you don't even have a wireless card all it's going off of is your IP address. Estimating someone's location via their IP address has been used for a very long time already.

    We trust websites with information far more sensitive than our general locations already.

    Edit: I downloaded 3.5 to check it out. I haven't used Firefox since Chrome came out but I always try the newest browser releases for Firefox, Chrome and Opera. So far it's good but every browser is good when you first open it, so we'll see.

    Sarksus on
  • FyreWulffFyreWulff Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited July 2009
    Yeah, sites have been able to geolocate you for years now. This is just a new API to make it simpler for developers to use.

    FyreWulff on
  • DigDug2000DigDug2000 Registered User
    edited July 2009
    FyreWulff wrote: »
    Yeah, sites have been able to geolocate you for years now. This is just a new API to make it simpler for developers to use.
    The backend is pluggable though. It could feasibly be used on mobile browsers and hook into your machine's GPS. Fennec isn't going to be out for awhile though, and even once it is I doubt it will be installed on much. But at least there's one standard API that will work with whatever your browser supports.

    You can clear the permissions for a site through the Page Info window.

    DigDug2000 on
  • FyreWulffFyreWulff Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited July 2009
    You can also disable it completely with about:config

    FyreWulff on
  • zacharyzachary Creative Developer Minneapolis, MNRegistered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Thanks for posting links to my two demos =)

    Firefox 3.5 and Safari users might have fun with this one too:
    http://www.zachstronaut.com/blackhole

    Recoil42 wrote: »

    zachary on
  • Michael HMichael H Registered User
    edited July 2009
    Geolocation isn't working for me, but I'm at work and I have no idea what they do with our network.

    I've been using Prism just for grins as a way of launching Gmail. It starts a separate instance of Firefox that never gets above 35 MB of memory or so, regardless of how long it runs. (Which makes sense as it doesn't really go anywhere.) I usually leave it on all day, as I would with a "normal" instance of FF, but it ends up taking less memory in the long haul. Memory isn't too much of a concern, but it's just something I've noticed. Since 3.5 launches so fast I don't mind closing it and opening it throughout the day as I need it for other net usage. Having Gmail open in Prism is like having a separate email client. Kind of nice.

    Michael H on
  • DouglasDangerDouglasDanger PennsylvaniaRegistered User regular
    edited July 2009
    I somehow missed the release of 3.5. Just installed it a few minutes ago. Seems really fast!

    I don't understand how some of you guys get some tabs and windows going on. Maybe if you are some kind of web developer or something I guess. I usually have 2-5 tabs open and leave it running for two or three hours and never have any kind of memory problems. That was before updating. I guess we will have to see.

    DouglasDanger on
    I play games on ps3 and ps4. My PSN is DouglasDanger.
  • SarksusSarksus Paul Atreides holding a pugRegistered User regular
    edited July 2009
    I somehow missed the release of 3.5. Just installed it a few minutes ago. Seems really fast!

    I don't understand how some of you guys get some tabs and windows going on. Maybe if you are some kind of web developer or something I guess. I usually have 2-5 tabs open and leave it running for two or three hours and never have any kind of memory problems. That was before updating. I guess we will have to see.

    Some people, myself included, will at times have 10-15 tabs open at once for several days because we think we might come back to the site later or we've stopped using bookmarks.

    Sometimes, if I'm doing research, I will have 40 tabs open for days.

    Sarksus on
  • KrisKris Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    zachary wrote: »
    Thanks for posting links to my two demos =)

    Firefox 3.5 and Safari users might have fun with this one too:
    http://www.zachstronaut.com/blackhole

    That is really, really cool. :^: Looking at your javascript makes me wish I knew my maths better.

    Kris on
  • Recoil42Recoil42 Registered User
    edited July 2009
    zachary wrote: »
    Thanks for posting links to my two demos =)

    Firefox 3.5 and Safari users might have fun with this one too:
    http://www.zachstronaut.com/blackhole

    Recoil42 wrote: »

    Hah! Small world, I got these from reddit. Did you post them on there?


    As a sidenote, I was just talking to someone yesterday about your website, which we both thought was a little fun/clever. I particularly like the touch of what happens when you scroll all the way to the moon. ;)

    Recoil42 on
  • DouglasDangerDouglasDanger PennsylvaniaRegistered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Sarksus wrote: »
    I somehow missed the release of 3.5. Just installed it a few minutes ago. Seems really fast!

    I don't understand how some of you guys get some tabs and windows going on. Maybe if you are some kind of web developer or something I guess. I usually have 2-5 tabs open and leave it running for two or three hours and never have any kind of memory problems. That was before updating. I guess we will have to see.

    Some people, myself included, will at times have 10-15 tabs open at once for several days because we think we might come back to the site later or we've stopped using bookmarks.

    Sometimes, if I'm doing research, I will have 40 tabs open for days.

    I don't understand this way of browsing.

    DouglasDanger on
    I play games on ps3 and ps4. My PSN is DouglasDanger.
  • tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    This version of Firefox is much zippier. My only complaint is that it does take a long time to start up initially.

    Can't say I get the 40 tabs for days thing either. Probably because I turn my machine off every day.

    tsmvengy on
    steam_sig.png
  • BarrakkethBarrakketh Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Sarksus wrote: »
    I somehow missed the release of 3.5. Just installed it a few minutes ago. Seems really fast!

    I don't understand how some of you guys get some tabs and windows going on. Maybe if you are some kind of web developer or something I guess. I usually have 2-5 tabs open and leave it running for two or three hours and never have any kind of memory problems. That was before updating. I guess we will have to see.

    Some people, myself included, will at times have 10-15 tabs open at once for several days because we think we might come back to the site later or we've stopped using bookmarks.

    Sometimes, if I'm doing research, I will have 40 tabs open for days.

    Is that what you kids call it these days? It doesn't take days to find out whether the screenshots warrant torrenting that new porn release. But yeah, if I'm searching for something that's not likely to be in the first five links on a goo that can basically get to around 10-15 tabs from the first few pages that I open, then quickly skim through them to filter out the crap.

    And I could easily keep more than five tabs open on the forums (these and others) for fast moving threads. And then you have things like the first couple of weeks after Iran's election where you also have various news sites where they're effectively live-blogging events, plus certain Iranian twitter users who were reporting on the protests, etc.

    My PC runs 24/7. The only time it shuts down is because of extended power outages. Everything that I didn't read through in my last browsing "session" is left open to read when I'm back at the PC.

    Barrakketh on
    Rollers are red, chargers are blue....omae wa mou shindeiru
  • NailbunnyPDNailbunnyPD Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Sarksus wrote: »
    I somehow missed the release of 3.5. Just installed it a few minutes ago. Seems really fast!

    I don't understand how some of you guys get some tabs and windows going on. Maybe if you are some kind of web developer or something I guess. I usually have 2-5 tabs open and leave it running for two or three hours and never have any kind of memory problems. That was before updating. I guess we will have to see.

    Some people, myself included, will at times have 10-15 tabs open at once for several days because we think we might come back to the site later or we've stopped using bookmarks.

    Sometimes, if I'm doing research, I will have 40 tabs open for days.

    I don't understand this way of browsing.

    I've never been fond of favorites, so I keep my regular visited sites open in tabs. Between Firefox itself and TMP, the browser remembers my tabs across sessions. The address bar features added in 3.0 were very welcome, as I can simply type a portion of the title or address of a site I visited and have it come up.

    Memory is not a concern to me. I will fluctuate between 8-40 tabs at a time. My machine runs 24/7, but that's irrelevant when Firefox remembers tabs across sessions.

    NailbunnyPD on
    XBL: NailbunnyPD PSN: NailbunnyPD Origin: NailbunnyPD
    NintendoID: Nailbunny 3DS: 3909-8796-4685
    steam_sig-400.png
  • JasconiusJasconius sword criminal mad onlineRegistered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Firebug on 3.5 is stupidly buggy. Making me angry because I'm working on a major AJAX project that is going into production in 6 days.

    Jasconius on
  • RBachRBach Registered User regular
    edited July 2009
    Use a portable version of Firefox 3.0 until Firebug's stability improves.

    RBach on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Sign In or Register to comment.