As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Is Vector a scam?

nightmarennynightmarenny Registered User regular
edited June 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I am a young college student who is thus, desperate for cash. It was a godsend then when a company gave me a call. They said I had been recommend by a good friend of mine(this was confirmed) I went to the interview and the Branch manager of Vector(which sells knives) gave a long presentation which involved mentioning that you would have to pay a 147 dollar deposit for the demonstrations. I received a phone call later telling me I was hired. So I asked my parents for a lone. My father had a long talk with me and said it had to be a scam.

So, has anyone had any dealings with this company? Is it a scam?

Quire.jpg
nightmarenny on

• InvisibleInvisible Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    Yes.

Any company that wants you to sell knives, insurance, energy bars, etc. and requires you to pay a fee for the privilege of selling their product is almost always a scam.

Edit: Oh and the reason you were recommended by a friend is because friends and family are pretty much the only people you'll ever get involved (either as recruits or as customers).

Invisible on
  • XaquinXaquin Right behind you!Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    It's a scam. I remember thinking I should check this out. So I did. I remember saying to myself "wow, scissors that can cut through a penny. Cool. .... see you guys later"

one wasted day hehe

Xaquin on
  • Typhoid MannyTyphoid Manny Registered User regular
    edited June 2009
    generally if it occurs to you to ask if something is a scam, then it's a scam.

Typhoid Manny on
    from each according to his ability, to each according to his need
    hitting hot metal with hammers