As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

DnD 3.5 - Tips and Advice

YamiB.YamiB. Registered User regular
edited June 2009 in Critical Failures
Sometime in the next couple of weeks I'm going to be playing DnD for the first time. My girlfriend is going to be running the game and she said we're going to probably be using edition 3.5. I was hoping that I would be able to get some advice for a starting player, this is my first time with any tabletop role-playing game.

Are there any good resources for information I should turn to? So far I have gone to http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=d20/article/srd35, but it seems to mostly have technical information.

The thing I probably need help with most is character creation. Right now I'm leaning towards the Cleric class. The problem with that is that I've read I need to be aligned with a deity for that class, but I haven't been able to find comprehensive lists of the deities.

It might be looking a bit far ahead, but any general tips for preforming in the DM role would also be appreciated. For the first game or two my girlfriend will be the DM because she's done that before, but she wants to be able to play in games too, so I think that we'll rotate leadership.

YamiB. on

• Options
    delrolanddelroland Registered User regular
    edited May 2009
    http://www.d20srd.org

Anything besides technical information is proprietary, and you'll have to pay for it. Plus your gf may be running a home campaign which would throw all fluff out the window anyways.

delroland on
    EVE: Online - the most fun you will ever have not playing a game.
    "Go up, thou bald head." -2 Kings 2:23
  • Options
    rucdocrucdoc Crazy guy in the corner ClassifiedRegistered User regular
    edited May 2009
    first bit of advice, have fun.