As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Quitting my job, maybe

LaviLavi Registered User regular
edited July 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Hello, I posted here before and received some generally great advice.

Basically, I want to quit my job but I feel like a complete asshole if I do so.

Let me explain. Before I had a great job, it was a typical Mon-Fri, 9-5, day time, relatively easy, great supervisors and co-workers, weekends off, etc. The pay was minimum wage but I didn't care, I loved it. I'm a student and it was a temporary position so once it ended I had been hired on as a permanent but due to budget problems they had to let me go. I didn't really care and was fine with it.

But because I now have a girlfriend and some pressure from her and to an extent her family, I looked for another job and luckily I got it. Unfortunately it is not a job I wanted in the first place. It's basically a graveyard shift, Sun-Thurs, 10pm-7am, shitty supervisor, crappy co-workers, and it is an hour and half drive away from where I live.

The problem is that it is messing up my summer classes I'm taking. I've basically fallen behind in school work because I cannot get used to the work hours even though I've been here for a month. I really need to finish these classes so I can transfer out. Although not relevant, when my father passed, I basically took it out on my school work by taking two years off and falling behind, so I really want to "catch up" now.