As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Should I Get a Kitten(s)?

Folken FanelFolken Fanel anime afWhen's KoFRegistered User regular
edited July 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
So I know there's an existing kitten thread, but I didn't want to hijack it, and many of my questions are more basic anyway. First of all, I want advice about whether or not I should get one based on my current situation, and if so, how I should go about getting one? What easily accessible resources are available to me to educate myself? More specifically...

I'm currently a grad student, so I'll be away from my 1bed/1bath apartment most of the day. I'm more of a dog person, but I'd hate to leave it alone all day. This was my mentality for getting a cat, as I hear they're not as lonely, especially if I get two.

How much money can I expect to spend on getting the kitten(s), vaccines, food, etc, etc? I make about $25k a year as a grad student so its nice to budget accordingly.

I don't know squat about breeds. Recommendations?

How hard is it to correct undesired behavior, aka scratching/clawing furnitute, chewing wires (I have wires all over my apartment), pissing/shitting on things that aren't litter boxes, etc? I'd obviously get a scratching post (they're all the same, right?) and probably a spray bottle (filled with water) to zap the fuckers if I ever catch them chewing wires. Is there ever any way to keep kittens from doing shit they aren't supposed to while I'm away?