As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Did you ever think...[Graphics]

The Dude With HerpesThe Dude With Herpes Lehi, UTRegistered User regular
edited August 2009 in Games and Technology
So I was watching the videos for the Crysis 3 engine at Gamescom, seeing them all sync up on the PS3/360/PC and how amazing they all looked, then while watching this one:
http://ve3d.ign.com/videos/53682/PC/Crysis-2/Gameplay/Cevat-Yerli-CryEngine-3-Demonstration
It occurred to me:

I'm 29 and I've been playing video games for well over 20 years now. Ever since my stepdad brought home a Commodore 64 for some unknown reason (dude knows zero about technology, I doubt he even knew what it was) I've been playing. I've owned virtually every "major" system since then and have played a lot of games.

Well, growing up with videogames since virtually the beginning of video games I've had a somewhat neat experience of being able to watch the total evolution of graphics from pong to what we have today.

Honestly, when I was 7, there's no possible way I could have known that graphics would go from this:
tooth_invaders_01.gif
to this:
46658_1_normal.jpg

Let alone in my lifetime, but ever; the fact that it has happened so fast is mind boggling to me. If you had shown me that when I was 7 and said "One day you will play a game that looks like this" it would have been the most ridiculous thing ever. Hell, I remember when I first played Myst, it blew my mind how good it looked. I didn't think it was possible. I was fully aware that it was mainly still images but it was still rendered on a computer.