As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Memory compatibility (possible) issue (SOLVED)

DourinDourin Registered User regular
Alright, so I'm a bit of a novice at system building, and haven't done it in quite a few years. Nonetheless, I decided that this time around, I'd give it a go rather than going the pre-packaged crapbox route. I tried to research my parts as much as I was capable of with my limited experience, and felt pretty confident with my choices.

Until today, that is. See, the mobo I decided on was the ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard, which, as I learned, has some very specific needs in regards to device compatibility. The ram I chose was Crucial 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory, and it seemed to fit the bill nicely. However, upon later looking at the manual for the mobo, it is not listed.

And this brings me to you guys. As I said, I have very limited knowledge of computer hardware, so I'm unsure if this is truly not compatible, or something as simple as just not on the list in the manual. I do know enough about hardware compatibility in general to know that there are times that something may not be on the verified compatibility list, but still work with the component, but am not sure if that applies here.

Thanks in advance for your help, guys.

Dourin on

• Options
    CrashtardCrashtard Registered User regular
    edited August 2009
    Looking at those two items, it's definitely compatible. The mobo specs show that it is compatible with DDR3 1333, which is what that RAM is listed as.

Crashtard on
    I pinky swear that we will not screw you.

Crashtard.jpg
  • Options
    edited August 2009