As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[DnD4E]What do you like in a story?

pd771pd771 Registered User regular
edited August 2009 in Critical Failures
I have been playing D&D for a limited time, but when we finish with our current quest, I was asked by the group to be the DM (some want to start a new game on another day of the week). I have already been offerred help by our veteran D&D players to help me out with some of the duties, but part of the reason they asked me to DM was to help make up a fun and unique story.

I'm an ok writer, and have some ideas, but I want to make sure that the story will be enjoyable to a wide range of players. So, what do you each like in a D&D story? What is the most enjoyable part to you? What do you hate? What kinds of creatures are your favorites to battle (for low levels, as everyone is making a new character for the game)?

Any help is much appreciated.

pd771 on

• Options
    cptruggedcptrugged I think it has something to do with free will. Registered User regular
    edited August 2009
    The thing that has always made my games both bad or good was the ability of the DM to keep the story moving. One of the worst things in either of my gaming groups (in 2 RL games currently) is when the GM gives us the clues to the hook but we either over think it or get stumped. Game grinds to a halt and every stops having fun. I'm not saying make a story that leads everyone around by the nose. But brickwalling in an adventure just sucks.

cptrugged on
  • Options
    MegazverMegazver Registered User regular
    edited August 2009
    Put the screws to them.

Megazver on
    Chief Tyrol. Academician Megazver of the Jol-Nar Universities
  • Options
    TerrendosTerrendos Decorative Monocle Registered User regular
    edited August 2009