As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Beginner's Violin

TamTam Registered User regular
edited August 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
My sister is starting violin lessons in middle school. I'm looking to buy the cheapest violin possible with an acceptable sound for an absolute beginner. However, she's undoubtedly going to break something on it at some point, so I really want something with easily replaceable parts.

Online stores that offer fast shipping would be icing on the cake.

Please and thanks, H/A.

Tam on

• Options
    ZombiemamboZombiemambo Registered User regular
    edited August 2009
    Now, I don't play violin or know too much about them, but I don't think any beginner is going to get acceptable sound out of any violin.

Zombiemambo on
    JKKaAGp.png
  • Options
    strakha_7strakha_7 Registered User regular
    edited August 2009
    Now, I don't play violin or know too much about them, but I don't think any beginner is going to get acceptable sound out of any violin.

This is so very true.

As for breaking things- I never knew anything to break in my five years playing cello, and I knew alot of violin players at the time. All you can do is over tighten strings so far they snap. This is way harder to do on a classical instrument than a guitar, and if she has an electronic tuner it won't happen.

They aren't cheap instruments. Maybe talk to your parents or something about you getting the violin and them getting a hard case. That's the surest way to prevent breakage - carrying it to and from school is a bumpy experience.

strakha_7 on
    Want a signature? Find a post by ElJeffe and quote a random sentence!
    ElJeffe wrote: »
    Zero tolerance policies are almost invariably terrible.

One might say I have zero tolerance for them.
  • Options