As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Stick figures? A different approach.

MATPHATMATPHAT Registered User regular
edited September 2009 in Artist's Corner
Hey y’all.

I’m just popping by to ask if you could take a look at my art and tell me what you think.
Most importantly I’m curious if the art concept, which is kind of 2D/3D amalgam, is easy to understand and enjoyable. My experiment is to discover if stick figures in a semi three dimensional world are viable as an art style to tell a story.
I’m new at all of this and I’m afraid my writing and art shows it, but it’s something I’ve been itching to try for a while now.
So, let me know what you think please!
If you’d like to see more go to Sticknia.com

Stickman.

10nfjgx.jpg

2ufprud.jpg

qno5cl.jpg

jhftzt.jpg

264qb8n.jpg
MATPHAT on

• Options
    McGibsMcGibs TorontoRegistered User regular
    edited September 2009
    The problem with stick figures in 3d space is that they inherently dont have any depth (which is rather important in 3d...).
    A stick figure works alright on a 2d plane because his arms and legs and whatever dont have to move forward or back, so its easy to read. But as soon as stuff starts moving back or forward, there's foreshortening and things are crossing in front of other things, etc etc. It because exceedingly difficult to read. The viewer cant tell whats in front or whats behind, or whats foreshortened or whats just short. The guys at the back on the bar (fighting?) are an example, same with the guy's legs on the barstool.

Also the big problem of line and shapes. The snake guy doesnt work because his body is forming shapes by intersecting with itself. If the "line" had form and was like, a tube or a pipe, it would work better, but its just a line.