As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Number of days between no hitters?

Folken FanelFolken Fanel anime afWhen's KoFRegistered User regular
edited March 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
So I'm a grad student studying mathematics and I need to analyze a set of data and run some tests to decide what class of distribution the data belongs to. I'm interested in finding out the number of days that pass between no-hitters that are thrown in major league baseball. However, the biggest problem I'm having is finding said information. Wikipedia gives each no hitter ever thrown and the date of each, but calculating the number of days between each event would be a giant pain in the ass. Is there any chance that someone knows of such a site that will give me the number of days between no hitters?

Twitter: Folken_fgc Steam: folken_ XBL: flashg03 PSN: folken_PA SFV: folken_
Dyvim Tvar wrote: »
Characters I hate:

Everybody @Folken Fanel plays as.
Folken Fanel on

• Options
    lowlylowlycooklowlylowlycook Registered User regular
    edited March 2007
    Here is a java function to calculate the number of days between two dates.

linky

lowlylowlycook on
    steam_sig.png
    (Please do not gift. My game bank is already full.)
  • Options
    Paul_IQ164Paul_IQ164 Registered User regular
    edited March 2007
    Or else there's a website here: http://www.timeanddate.com/date/duration.html that does the same thing. Unless you can cleverly get something to parse the table from Wikipedia, I don't see any faster way of doing things. I can't imagine any website keeps track of such an arcane statistic (or so it sounds to me - I have no clue how baseball works).

Paul_IQ164 on
    But obviously to make that into a viable anecdote you have to tart it up a bit.
    Tetris: 337214-901184