As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Critique my Resume?

DemerdarDemerdar Registered User regular
edited September 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey I'm a Mechanical Engineer graduating in May looking to get into graduate school and hopefully obtaining a research position so I can go for free.

So, critique my resume if you would!

resume.png

y6GGs3o.gif
Demerdar on

• RenegadeSilenceRenegadeSilence Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    I went to a career fair today, mine is on the bottom to give you a frame of reference.

I was told that course not needed, if they are interested in it they'll ask. I found out that was pretty much true. The only way I would keep it is if you took any classes that weren't required of your major, which none of those look like they are.

I'd get rid of the additional experience part, that seems like stuff you would elaborate on in a interview. Replace it with a computer skills section.

Are you involved in any extracurriculars? Receive any scholarships?

If you have some kind of career center I would recommend going over there for them to critique it.

http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/3171/aaaaww.jpg

RenegadeSilence on
  • Lux782Lux782 Registered User regular
    edited September 2009
    Demerdar wrote: »
    Hey I'm a Mechanical Engineer graduating in May looking to get into graduate school and hopefully obtaining a research position so I can go for free.

So, critique my resume if you would!

resume.png