As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Best beginner PnP RPG rule set?

LoneIgadzraLoneIgadzra Registered User regular
edited February 2010 in Critical Failures
I decided I wanted to try a pen & paper RPG with my parents (not kidding!) and a friend or two. Due to the players being who they are, I think the potential for hilarity and good times is pretty massive. The caveat is: I have never done this before.

I've polled my players for a list of what elements they think are important in an adventure, and this is the list so far:
  • nice clothes
  • sense of comradeship
  • pets
  • weather
  • scenery / beautiful locations
  • puzzles
  • situations with multiple solutions / outcomes
  • "... but by puzzle I don't necessarily mean something like zelda of course, I mean maybe I spill a drink on a guy at the bar- do I end up getting in a fight, getting the party into a bar brawl, do I talk my way out of it, do I lose money or make a friend..."

I am currently working my way through the D&D 4th edition handbook, which is what I defaulted to because I've played a shitload of D&D-based CRPG's (and read the damn rule book for the relevant edition on more than one occasion to make sense of one thing or another). But it is pretty complicated, there is a lot to do and keep track of with characters (for my parents I will probably pre-make a set that they can choose from), just lots of stuff in the game world. Also, WOTC has done its best to make me have to buy a whole bunch of crap. I'm hoping to get away with just some dice and the one hard copy of each of the "big three" books and try to keep things simple for my players, but still.