As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Unironically looking for critique/help with a comic (Concept updates on pg. 2)

FugitiveFugitive Registered User regular
edited October 2009 in Artist's Corner
First new thread in years, woo

I'm doing the art, my friend is mostly doing the writing.

Page1FIN.png

Page2FIN.png

I'm completely new to this, so I'm trying to learn as I go. My biggest concerns are layout, pacing, readability, and how the text fits into the bubbles. I know this is par for the course for the AC, but I'd really like to know what is working so far and what isn't in terms of art, and to a lesser extent, the writing.

Also, does anyone have any good font recommendations? I'm trying to dig up the free font-maker that was going around on the forums a while back. And does anyone know a good way to get the "white outline" effect inside the coat? Right now I'm just selecting the lines and coloring them white on the line layer above.

Fugitive on

• iglidanteiglidante Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    Just two quick reactions: font is too small (for me, on my screen, at least - and anyway, it's small enough that the letters aren't as distinct as they could be); also, watch panel separation, because those squiggly lines you've got going in the borders (cool, by the way) sometimes bring them too close together, and the flow becomes a little less than effortless.

Oh, and I like the art. Stark black and white isn't exactly easy on the eyes, but I think your execution is pretty good.

EDIT: By "isn't easy on the eyes," I don't mean that it doesn't look good, but that it's a little fatiguing, at least on my monitor - but my contrast ratio isn't the best in the world.

iglidante on
  • CheerfulBearCheerfulBear Registered User regular
    edited October 2009