Club PA 2.0 has arrived! If you'd like to access some extra PA content and help support the forums, check it out at patreon.com/ClubPA
The image size limit has been raised to 1mb! Anything larger than that should be linked to. This is a HARD limit, please do not abuse it.
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

So my new computer is completely screwed

SomestickguySomestickguy Registered User regular
About a week ago, I received a Richochet Pro from novatech.co.uk. However, I only yesterday installed an OS (Windows Vista Home basic), and got a chance to use it.

So far, I've had around 8 BSODs, 3 times where it's turned off suddenly without prompting, one time where the computer completely spazzed out and crashed the moment I started a game of Left 4 Dead, and 2 times where the computer froze in some psychadelic mess where the only thing I could make out was the mouse.
And the computer seems slower than it should be (everytime I drag a window, it leaves trails behind)

So yeah, big problems. I've checked the temperature (around 40 degrees celsius), the hard drive (seems to be clean), and I've attempted to check the ram with this, but everytime i try, the computer blue screens.

So I'm thinking the RAM's faulty, but does anyone else have any input?

skLsJmt.png
My YouTube channel! Subscribe for reviews and video editing experiments!
Somestickguy on

Posts

  • PolloDiabloPolloDiablo Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    Have you tried swapping out the ram? If it bluescreens when you run memtest, it's almost certainly a ram problem.

    PolloDiablo on
    Be excellent to each other you stupid cunts.
  • SomestickguySomestickguy Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    Have you tried swapping out the ram? If it bluescreens when you run memtest, it's almost certainly a ram problem.

    Well, I don't have any other RAM.

    Somestickguy on
    skLsJmt.png
    My YouTube channel! Subscribe for reviews and video editing experiments!
  • PolloDiabloPolloDiablo Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    You can probably get some from Best Buy and return it if there's still a problem once you switch them.

    PolloDiablo on
    Be excellent to each other you stupid cunts.
  • SomestickguySomestickguy Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    I live in the UK, no best buys here.

    And shouldn't Novatech deal with this, since it's their faulty RAM?

    Somestickguy on
    skLsJmt.png
    My YouTube channel! Subscribe for reviews and video editing experiments!
  • SporkAndrewSporkAndrew Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited October 2009
    Yeah, fill out an RMA with Novatech and say the RAM is dead. If it's blue-screening during Memtest make sure you tell them that.

    Distance selling laws, warranty, you're covered by a number of things.

    SporkAndrew on
    The one about the fucking space hairdresser and the cowboy. He's got a tinfoil pal and a pedal bin. His father's a robot and he's fucking fucked his sister. Lego. They're all made of fucking lego.
  • SomestickguySomestickguy Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    Yeah, fill out an RMA with Novatech and say the RAM is dead. If it's blue-screening during Memtest make sure you tell them that.

    Distance selling laws, warranty, you're covered by a number of things.

    Awesome.

    But will they cover the postage if I have to send it back to them?

    Somestickguy on
    skLsJmt.png
    My YouTube channel! Subscribe for reviews and video editing experiments!
  • PolloDiabloPolloDiablo Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    I think that's standard for an RMA.

    PolloDiablo on
    Be excellent to each other you stupid cunts.
  • SporkAndrewSporkAndrew Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited October 2009
    Depends on the type RMA request. Because it's a faulty item they should give you a pre-paid label or something similar to send it back to them.

    I've had RMAs where I've had to pay for them but that's from me ordering the wrong products!

    SporkAndrew on
    The one about the fucking space hairdresser and the cowboy. He's got a tinfoil pal and a pedal bin. His father's a robot and he's fucking fucked his sister. Lego. They're all made of fucking lego.
Sign In or Register to comment.