As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[D&D 3.5] First Time DM

Sanguine_VoyeurSanguine_Voyeur Registered User regular
edited October 2009 in Critical Failures
...and I'm not sure where to start.

I know of a few people that are interested in playing, and I'm in college. It won't be hard to find more players if need be. I have access to a good amount of 3.5 books and a friend with many more.

My biggest problem is that, being a college student, I don't have time to hand craft a world and campaign. I'm not confident or skilled enough as a DM to wing it every week. I don't want to rely on varying modules, that wouldn't create any sort of depth and would be sort of disjointed and irrelevant.

What do I do?

Sanguine_Voyeur on

• Options
    DevoutlyApatheticDevoutlyApathetic Registered User regular
    edited October 2009
    www.paizo.com

Go look into their adventure paths. They are of good quality and designed to be essentially "a campaign in a box".

Additionally looking around on their forums you should find plenty of first hand experiences from people who ran/played them to let you know where they might be a little "off".

DevoutlyApathetic on
    Nod. Get treat. PSN: Quippish
  • Options
    edited October 2009
    That's incredibly helpful and what I was looking for. Thank you.

However, I have another potential issue. One of my players has played before in a more overpowered campaign. He's used to having all his stats 14 minimum with at least one a 20 plenty of gold to roll around in. That's not the problem though. I'm using a standard point buy system, and he set him self up with all 10's, a 6, and one 20, from racial modifiers.