As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Christmas Dinner- I'd really appreciate your thoughts

Virgil_Leads_YouVirgil_Leads_You Proud FatherHouse GardenerRegistered User regular
edited December 2009 in Help / Advice Forum
I have a small problem. I have gradually started, this past year, cooking meals for my family.

I'm still an amateur, however, I've become very confident in making delicious roasts with pork, beef, chicken, and turkey. I was planning on attempting a roast of a crown of lamb for the reunion, until I learned today, that my father will not "eat cute adolescent animals".

I really desire to cook a great, memorable meal when my entire family drives in on Christmas. It's silly, but it's really has become a big wish for me.

I currently reside in a modern populated city along the Ohio River in Kentucky, & I was wondering what I should attempt to cook instead.

The appeal of the lamb, was that it was a meat that I had never worked with before, while having a great reputation as a roast. Are there any other meats that roasts well - that a schmuck in Kentucky could acquire?

VayBJ4e.png
Virgil_Leads_You on

• Options
    CorvusCorvus . VancouverRegistered User regular
    edited December 2009
    I'm not sure I'd try something I've never cooked before for Christmas dinner. If you go with lamb, maybe it out once before hand.

Corvus on
    :so_raven:
  • Options
    Virgil_Leads_YouVirgil_Leads_You Proud Father House GardenerRegistered User regular
    edited December 2009
    I'm probably a bit over confident when it comes to cooking, but that sounds like good advice. I probably won't go with lamb sadly, but even if i did- I probably could only afford testing a leg. 2 lamb racks in only a few weeks would cost a bit much, haha. Thanks for the input.