As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

The blunt instrument of cancellation

junkmalejunkmale Registered User new member
edited April 2007 in MMO Extravaganza
I've been playing MMOs for a few years now, and have sampled the offerings from all the major providers, but find myself facing a situation I've never faced before: I'm actually considering canceling a game because the forum mod for that game did something so obnoxious that it's actually abusive.

But is cancellation too far, based on the action of one bad employee? This particular company doesn't really give alternative methods of submitting complaints (though I used the e-mail address it had provided--three weeks of silence since). It seems like the options are to suck it up and keep playing and paying, or cancel, and lose the whole game in the name of one jerk who isn't even really connected to the production/design/implementation of the game.

If cancellation is the only tool given to address complaints--and even where other tools exist, it's often the only one a company cares about--at what point is it "reasonable" to use it for a game you otherwise enjoy? Am I cutting my nose to spite my face, or taking a stand on principle?

junkmale on

• Options
    ScooterScooter Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Without knowing what they did, and assuming you want to keep playing the game, sounds like an overreaction.

Scooter on
  • Options
    The Dude With HerpesThe Dude With Herpes Lehi, UTRegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Odd first post.

Anyway, is there a particular reason you're not mentioning the game? None cares, or is otherwise afraid to attack and/or defend any games by name around these parts; don't be afraid to just say it straight instead of beating around the bush.