As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Study help - not resting on my laurels

Anarchy Rules!Anarchy Rules! Registered User regular
edited January 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
For most of my time in education I've been getting by with just doing the bare minimum of work, and it's turned out pretty well. I got decent grades at high school and 6th form, and a low 2:1 in my first year of university.

When I think of how little work I do throughout the year I know I can probably achieve a first, but I just can't motivate myself to sit down and do routine studying - at the moment I only really work to deadlines of essays and exams.

Can H/A recommend any good tactics for studying and getting out of this lazy mindset? If it helps my degree is in Microbiology and Pathology.

Anarchy Rules! on

• Options
    Forbe!Forbe! Registered User regular
    edited January 2010
    You have to want it. If you don't want it you're just going to keep being a lazy sack and not do your homework. Believe me, I was there. Get rid of any distractions around you, or remove yourself from the environment you are being lazy in.

For me, getting rid of the tv and internet were imperative. If this isn't an option, rent a study room at the library, or find a nice quiet spot away from any distractions that you can study at. You need to form positive habits.

Forbe! on
    bv2ylq8pac8s.png
  • Options
    Mace1370Mace1370 Registered User regular
    edited January 2010
    Don't study where you play. Make a schedule for every hour of the day and stick to it. If you can do this for a week or two, then you will fall into a pattern that will be easy to maintain.

Mace1370 on
  • Options
    LailLail Surrey, B.C.Registered User regular
    edited January 2010