As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Questions, Discussion, and Tutorials

• BroloBrolo Broseidon Lord of the BroceanRegistered User regular
    edited January 2010
    Hey dudes, can I get a bit of feedback on my website portfolio?

www.japong.net

I'm trying to look for employment in the graphic design and illustration fields. I'm not great with CSS/HTML webdesign (you can probably tell from my site), and while I have some knowledge of vector work in Illustrator I don't know how to use flash.

I'm a little worried that the site design is a little too dark and focuses too much on fantasy illustration work, rather than on more employment-friendly commercial and advertisement work.

Do I have the skills to actually get employed with my current level of artwork? So far I haven't had much success in getting paid to do art or design. Any advice would be appreciated!

Brolo on
  • ManonvonSuperockManonvonSuperock Registered User regular
    edited January 2010
    It is a little too dark to comfortably read the splash page.

Also, I hate splash pages. No one visits a site for its splash page, so it's nothing more than a barrier between the viewer and what you want them to see.

and the quality of work under your digital painting section is much lower than that you have listed under graphic design. so much lower that I wouldn't suggest having most of it on the site.

and, that AWE logo is totally fucking sweet.

ManonvonSuperock on
  • NakedZerglingNakedZergling A more apocalyptic post apocalypse Portland OregonRegistered User regular
    edited January 2010