As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Resume For A Freshman In University

SuMa.LustreSuMa.Lustre Registered User regular
edited February 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
As the title says, I'm going to need to create a resume soon for a summer internship. I am a freshman in university, with minimal experience (one previous summer internship, random jobs such as afterschool care of elementary school kids for a week) and the feeling that anything I did in High School won't really matter because I'm in university now (not that I did too much in High School anyways besides random small positions in clubs).

Basically I am wondering, what parts should I try to emphasize? Are there little things that you guys would recommend I include?

SuMa.Lustre on

• DeebaserDeebaser on my way to work in a suit and a tie Ahhhh...come on fucking guyRegistered User regular
    edited February 2010
    I would mention the High School honor club bullshit because honestly, what other 'accomplishments' do you have at this point? List your last internship, GPA, what you're doing now, outstanding bullshit from HS, et cetera.

If you're looking for this summer I would hurry up and get it out there by tomorrow at the latest. A lot of shit comes into the companies I've worked with during Winter Recess.

Deebaser on
  • tardcoretardcore Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Put some stuff saying that you're a fast learner, a self-motivated team player, some of that non-sense. Put what college you are attending and what your focus is.

tardcore on
  • claypoolfanclaypoolfan Registered User regular
    edited February 2010
    Stress your qualifications... Are you good at word? Excel? Powerpoint? Access? Any computer language? Things like that.

claypoolfan on