As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Apple To Developers: Fuck You

• AtomikaAtomika Live fast and get fucked or whatever Registered User regular
    edited April 2010
    Smurph wrote: »
    So I'm a dev but I know nothing about iPhone development or Apple programming in general. Would this be like Microsoft saying that all Windows programs must be developed using their Visual Studio tools from now on? I can see the quality control argument to an extent, but shit they already put every app through an approval process. It looks more like they just want to fix the system so that they make as much money as possible.

I know, right? Fucking businesses trying to make money . . . .

Atomika on
  • DaedalusDaedalus Registered User regular
    edited April 2010
    Look, I'm not a developer, but I am a consumer and an economist, and I can't quite grasp what everyone has their panties in a wad over.

Apple is a proprietary developer, which basically means that they control not only the hardware in their products, but the parameters and restrictions in their software development. Every company wants to make the best presentations of optimized products, and if you aren't in charge of the factors that can alter that optimization, you have a much harder time presenting and touting that optimism. Basically, it's a lot like Chrysler letting customers choose their engine specifications from a third-party source; they can't promise you 30mpg if you want to buy a 10-cylinder turbocharger.