As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[Apps] iphone, ipod, ipad - Lets talk about Apps!

LucascraftLucascraft Registered User regular
I'm fairly new to the whole iphone thing, but I've got a few apps that I downloaded and have been enjoying. I did a search and saw a few "recommend on" style threads, but I didn't find any sort of a dedicated App thread, so I decided to start one. Lets talk about Apps, people!

The very first app I bought for my iphone was Popcap's Plants vs Zombies. Because tower defense games are fun as hell, and I love me some PvZ. (On a side-note, I'm always on the lookout for other good tower defense games, so if anyone has any other tower defense apps to recommend, please feel free to share.)

game_tile_pvz_lrg.jpg

Right after I got PvZ, I also grabbed Bejeweled 2, also by Popcap Games.

mzl.xwigitqp.175x175-75.jpg

Well, I don't only use my iphone for playing games. I also found an app that pulls up a handy iphone ready version of IMDB.com.

mzl.jyjudodu.175x175-75.jpg

One of the guys I work with told me about this little app. Its called "Shop Savvy" and basically what it does is uses the camera as a bar-code reader. You can scan a product, and it will pull up any information that might exist in the database for that item, including standard pricing, sale prices at retailers close to your location (via the GPS), and customer reviews of the item. I've had mixed success with it, but when it works its pretty cool.

mzl.uuqppwmr.175x175-75.jpg

Other apps I've downloaded include a Dictionary App which pulls from Dictionary.com. I got a Gamespot app that lets me pull up reviews and other game info. I got the Facebook app, and I got a Wikipedia app.