As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Need help from website creating techies (SOLVED)

ChillyWillyChillyWilly Registered User regular
edited April 2010 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm interested in learning how to build websites. I worked with HTML a little bit when I was back in college but I am, for all intents and purposes, a complete noob to this type of thing.

What are the cheapest programs that I can purchase? I know of Dreamweaver, but I'm relatively sure I don't need anything that expensive nor that extensive since I'm so new to everything.

Also, what are the best websites/books to start with that will help me learn the basics and work from the ground up? The "For Dummies" series comes to mind, but I don't know enough about such things to know anything past that.

Help me, Advice Forum. You're my only hope.

PAFC Top 10 Finisher in Seasons 1 and 3. 2nd in Seasons 4 and 5. Final 4 in Season 6.
ChillyWilly on

• mrcheesypantsmrcheesypants Registered User regular
    edited April 2010
    I'm assuming you're only interested in front end development correct?

First of all, using dreamweaver is kinda looked down upon in the web dev world. It's probably best that you use a text editor with syntax highlighting and maybe code folding. I don't really work in a windows environment, and I haven't coded HTML/CSS in it, but Notepad++ is a decent programmer's editor. I'm sure others will give you more info on editors.

For tutorials, www.w3schools.com is the standard for learning HTML/CSS. Just remember that you don't have to memorize every single attribute, or html tag.