As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Liquid Cooling - Recommendations?

ransimransim Registered User regular
I've been putting this off, but I think I finally want to take the dive and try out liquid cooling on my machine along with getting a second video card for SLI.

Current Specs:
Core i7 920
Intel DX58SO Mobo
6 GB DDR3 PC3-12800 (Patriot Viper)
EVGA 260 GTX 896MB Core 216
Zalman 750W SLI PSU
Case: NZXT Alpha

The machine is amazing as it is, but, what can I say I'm a sucker for moar, and I really want to try SLI. I'm just worried about heat. And I'll admit I'm a noob when it comes to Liquid cooling for the most part.

What I'm looking for is something that is relatively low maintenance, preferably a factory sealed system. I'm most interested in getting liquid cooling onto the CPU, but if its possible to do it on the GPU(s) as well that would be awesome. Though I'm not sure there are any factory sealed type system that would do both the CPU and the GPUs.

I'm looking for some personal experiences and recommendations. I'm fairly savvy with computer bits/pieces and building, so don't worry you probably won't scare me. I can also snag some pictures later if anyone is interesting/wants to see the inside of my case.

ransim on

• PaladinPaladin Registered User regular
    edited May 2010
    factory sealed, I think there's only the corsair hydro

Other than that, you're better off making your own for performance

You do not want an expensive cooling system unless you know exactly how each part of it works

Paladin on
    Marty: The future, it's where you're going?