As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Consumer rights/protection, false advertisement, and trivialization of issues.

DrezDrez Registered User regular
edited June 2010 in Debate and/or Discourse
This will be something of a mixed bag. I was going to post this in H/A, but I thought I would open it up to discussion. I'd like to hear what people have to say to my specific issue, but after I think it would be good to have a discussion about what rights consumers do have, what rights they should have, and what kind of recourse is and should be available to them.

Also, I am not a lawyer. I'm a legal layman, but that's okay, most of us are. The point is, I can only discuss the law insofar as I understand it as a non-lawyer United States consumer.

Okay, so my specific issue is this.

I pre-ordered BioShock 2 for the PC via Steam. There was no public demo or any way for me to test the game before it came out. The return policy on Steam is this: You can get refunded for canceled pre-orders, but once a game is released, they issue no refunds.

This is really no different from most PC game retailers. Very few (if any) will allow you a full refund or even store credit for a PC game. Most brick & mortar stores only allow defective returns, which means you get the same exact product back if your particular copy is broken or defective.